We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretzel Sticks to die for.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poor People's Pub

Poor People's Pub
33 Ocean Avenue, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-8533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Block Island
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Tamarac, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretzel Sticks to die for.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Quick trip to Block Island and stumbled upon this small restaurant. Server recommended the Pretzel Sticks - and these are the most awesome appetizer. As much as I tried, I couldn't eat them all and shared with the couple at the next table, who commented that I must have seen them drooling while watching me eat. Also enjoy the stuffed Quahog - just wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    44
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Someohow, we never noticed this restaurant before but stumbled upon it and we really liked the food.They have a smoker oout on the front lawn to smoke and cook their BBQ pork. My Lobster & Corn Chowder was full of large pieces of lobster meat, red potatoes and crisp, fresh kernels of local corn. My husband loved his Junk Fries appetizer that he ordered for his meal. French Fries covered in cheese, bacon, jalepenos, salsa, & scallions.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Seems like the place the locals go..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nice pub atmosphere and excellent lobster rolls (you can get them hot with butter or cold with mayo). The lobster chowder was to die for - a meal in itself. It is not huge, but it is rich and filling! Skip the junk fries unless you like your fries greasy and gooey.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York, USA
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Fun Casual and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Off the main drag, Poor People's Pub is a great place for casual food. The nachos with pulled pork was huge and delicious. Mac and cheese with pulled pork was also great. It is busy and bustling. Can get a bit loud. But when the food is so good you overlook a little loud.

Sort of a sports bar atmosphere which works perfect with the menu.

If I'm ever back on Block Island I will go to Poor People's Pub again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New York
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We ducked into Poor People's Pub on a rainy Saturday afternoon and we were so glad we did.
We ordered the nachos with pulled pork. This was a huge portion and the pork was tender and delicous. We also sampled the French onion soup which was perfect on a rainy day. This is not fine dining, it's fun dining in a casual pub setting, great value for Block Island we would return to Poor People's Pub given the opportunity

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor People's Pub also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Poor People's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor People's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.