We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretzel Sticks to die for.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poor People's Pub

Poor People's Pub
33 Ocean Avenue Block Island, RI, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-8533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Tamarac, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretzel Sticks to die for.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Quick trip to Block Island and stumbled upon this small restaurant. Server recommended the Pretzel Sticks - and these are the most awesome appetizer. As much as I tried, I couldn't eat them all and shared with the couple at the next table, who commented that I must have seen them drooling while watching me eat. Also enjoy the stuffed Quahog - just wonderful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    55
    14
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Someohow, we never noticed this restaurant before but stumbled upon it and we really liked the food.They have a smoker oout on the front lawn to smoke and cook their BBQ pork. My Lobster & Corn Chowder was full of large pieces of lobster meat, red potatoes and crisp, fresh kernels of local corn. My husband loved his Junk Fries appetizer that he ordered for his meal. French Fries covered in cheese, bacon, jalepenos, salsa, & scallions.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Seems like the place the locals go..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nice pub atmosphere and excellent lobster rolls (you can get them hot with butter or cold with mayo). The lobster chowder was to die for - a meal in itself. It is not huge, but it is rich and filling! Skip the junk fries unless you like your fries greasy and gooey.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York, USA
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Fun Casual and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Off the main drag, Poor People's Pub is a great place for casual food. The nachos with pulled pork was huge and delicious. Mac and cheese with pulled pork was also great. It is busy and bustling. Can get a bit loud. But when the food is so good you overlook a little loud.

Sort of a sports bar atmosphere which works perfect with the menu.

If I'm ever back on Block Island I will go to Poor People's Pub again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New York
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We ducked into Poor People's Pub on a rainy Saturday afternoon and we were so glad we did.
We ordered the nachos with pulled pork. This was a huge portion and the pork was tender and delicous. We also sampled the French onion soup which was perfect on a rainy day. This is not fine dining, it's fun dining in a casual pub setting, great value for Block Island we would return to Poor People's Pub given the opportunity

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor People's Pub also viewed

 

Been to Poor People's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor People's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.