We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Casual and Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Poor People's Pub

Poor People's Pub
33 Ocean Avenue, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-8533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 51 restaurants in Block Island
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Pine Plains, New York, USA
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Fun Casual and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Off the main drag, Poor People's Pub is a great place for casual food. The nachos with pulled pork was huge and delicious. Mac and cheese with pulled pork was also great. It is busy and bustling. Can get a bit loud. But when the food is so good you overlook a little loud.

Sort of a sports bar atmosphere which works perfect with the menu.

If I'm ever back on Block Island I will go to Poor People's Pub again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    60
    36
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell, New York
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We ducked into Poor People's Pub on a rainy Saturday afternoon and we were so glad we did.
We ordered the nachos with pulled pork. This was a huge portion and the pork was tender and delicous. We also sampled the French onion soup which was perfect on a rainy day. This is not fine dining, it's fun dining in a casual pub setting, great value for Block Island we would return to Poor People's Pub given the opportunity

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went tp PPP for the first time this past February. It was one of only 2 bars that were open on the Island. The owner was bar tending and was very Friendly. We got stuck on the island due to a nor'easter and all ferry's were canceled for the day, so we sat at PPP and drank 2$ Narragansett all day. The food was great and the beer was cold! Went back there in July and had the same great experience. Highly recommend PPP!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Get the lobster & corn chowder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went to poor people's pub twice while on vacation this past week. Both times got the lobster/corn chowder,lobster rolls, and burgers - so good!!! The lobster roll was really tasty & loaded with lobster. The lobster & corn chowder was honestly one of the BEST soup's I have ever had in my life...

For the name, the pub isn't exactly low cost - I mean, it's Block Island - what is? But it has enough basic lower cost items if you are on a budget. Overall the wait staff was great - our waitress, I think Kelly, on Friday night was really personable - she knew the Island really well when we asked questions too. Saturday was rainy and the pub was packed for lunch - service was just ok from the waitress we had - a few side things we asked for never showed/happened, but we decided it wasn't worth mentioning so I'm sure it probably would have been resolved if we had.

Would definitely come back when we are next on Island & recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“an all around excellent experience to say the least!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My fiancé and I went to Poor People's Pub while on a short vacation to BI. We were in Block Island for 3 nights, we went to Poor People's Pub on the second night and when deciding where to dine on the third night, I insisted we go back to Poor People's Pub it was THAT good! Both nights I had twin lobster special for $25. If you go, try it, and you will see why we went back again! Excellent food, outstanding service and an exceptional experience! I enjoyed the Casual ambience and we liked that it was fancy but the food was affordable. We will definitely go back every time we are in BI and I would recommend Poor People's Pub to anyone and everyone! My mouth is watering just writing this review, thinking about the delicious lobster I was fortunate enough to indulge in! Definitely the highlight of our getaway!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poor People's Pub also viewed

Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 
Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Poor People's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poor People's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.