We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Hygeia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hygeia House
Beach Avenue, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

While attending a wedding on Block Island, we stayed 2 nights at the Hygeia House. After spending nearly $200 per night, we were extremely disappointed. The house had a lovely antique feel about it in general. The linens in the bathroom were frayed and there was no bath mat. The bed was lumpy and the room was small. The breakfast was the most disappointing. On the second day, there wasn't even the fruit salad as there had been the day before. The baked goods all seemed to be store bought, and very mediocre. The kitchen, off the dining room, was a mess. Although the staff was not rude, they were not overly welcoming either.
On a positive note, the location was good. We were able to walk everywhere. The porch and yard were great for hanging out.
For the same price, I have stayed elsewhere and gotten much more for my money. Although I feel the Hygeia House could be spiffed up, I think they should begin improving the breakfast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
11
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Beautiful view and breezes from our room. The house is very old and authentic looking. Our bed dipped a little in the middle and the room smelled a little funky if you shut the windows but other than that no complaints. The owner was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious...homemade berry muffins, fruit, bagels, fresh coffee, juice. Old dog named Brother that roamed the lower level...gave the place even more character :D We sat on the huge front porch in rocking chairs watching the sun set and enjoying the breeze. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Location, location, location!!! And gorgeous views! I loved the story of the renovation, and the family names for each of the unique rooms--Hygeia House feels steeped in history, yet the vibe is comfortable, relaxing, and laid-back. We used Hygeia House as a central location from which to explore the island on our bikes. Host Lisa helped with recommendations about what to see and do on the island. My one regret is that I did not have enough time to peruse the poetry and literary artifacts on display in the house, but even that has a silver lining--I will need to come back again!!!

Room Tip: both east & west sides of the house have amazing views, and rooms on higher floors will have few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

My kids and I enjoyed a long weekend here in September. Our room was perfect for a family - two bed rooms and on the lower level so we didn't bother others with our noise. Breakfast was good and filling. The atmosphere was very cordial and friendly. My kids loved Brother the golden retriever. The only consideration for a family- my sense is that the place is more for retorted and couples. We were the only family there and felt a little out of place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at Hygeia House in August for 4 nights. We loved the relaxing atmosphere, friendly people, good breakfast and perfect location. Lisa Starr is a great host. The interesting books ( classics, poetry) all over the house and the beautiful antiques (old menus, photos, furniture) help you feel like you are part of history in this home. The house is very clean and livable. We walked easily to town (10 min) and bicycled all over the island from this location. The views from the front and back porches are lovely. We enjoyed coffee in the morning on the front deck and sunset on the back deck at the end of the day. There were several good restaurants just down the block. We Kayaked right down the street with Corrie at 'Pond and Beyond'.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

When traveling with 2 grown teenagers, it's often difficult to find a room with enough space for everyone without breaking the bank. This B&B was perfect for us – we had two rooms with a view and a private bath for the same price, or even less, than most properties. And it's in a great location to boot! I want an easy walk to the beach, one wants to shop, and the other wants to bike and explore the island. Plus, you're an easy walk to the ferry so no need for a car. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison,NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

It is charming.The owner and staff were very friendly .The rooms were clean. Breakfast was abundant.
Located a ten minute walk to the town beach and ten minutes from several places to eat.
We met other guests who were repeat customers.
Our room was one flight up with a view. There are rooms two flights up as well.
TV in the sitting room and wi-fi was well

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hygeia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hygeia House

Also Known As:
The Hygeia House Hotel Block Island
The Hygeia House Hotel
Address: Beach Avenue, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hygeia House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Hygeia House to your Saves list