We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect fit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Inn

Gables Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Inn
Save Saved
You added Gables Inn to your Saves list
Dodge Street, Block Island, RI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect fit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in this little b & B with our two children at the end of last summer. We rented the two rooms to the far left of the house as you are facing it. This gave us our own entrance, a private room for my husband and I, a room with two twin beds for our sons, a private hallway and bath. This was the perfect fit for us and we have somewhat high maitenance rooming needs. The house is old fashioned but it is charming. There is no air-conditioning but the ceilings are very high and there are ceiling fans which keep the rooms cool. The inn is right in the middle of everything while at the same time feeling like a calm oasis where we could watch the world spin by from the front porch if we wanted to. The only negative was the breakfast but the rates are so reasonable this was such a minor note. We all loved this place and I hope we will be able to make time in our busy summer to go back again.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back of the house if you want a good night's sleep it can get a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Gables twice. The first some years ago was during a 'NorEaster' with our baby when most folks fled the Island. Our two-week house rental was up and so we slipped into the Gables. We had a grand cozy time, stormy pink and peach sky and a tight ship inside the Gables. This past weekend we slipped away for a weekend and back to the Gables. Again a fine experience. Owner is open and friendly and leaves you alone. Plenty of bath towels, a house-wide refrigerator (and labels) and a clean well-lit place. Swing-set in the back. Koi fishpond at the entrance. Porch rockers. Comfortable living-sitting rooms downstairs. Shared bath was not a problem (and private is also available). Mornings have muffins, pastry and coffee. Price and quality matched. For internet needs Juice 'n Java across the street has WiFi but we had no issues with cell phone reception on the Island these days. Note: the Gables is in a good location, just a few minutes walk from the Harbor and beaches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Gables the week of Fourth of July. This is our second time staying there and I felt motivated to write a quick review because we had no complaints. The Inn is clean and comfortable. We had a shared bathroom, which isn't my favorite, but I was shocked at how well maintained and clean it was. Smelled bleach in the morning every day. There are towels, chairs, umbrellas and coolers available to the guests for no fee. And the owner Barbara was extremely helpful and friendly. Location is great is great too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed at Gables II this past weekend, and I think that people who live in civilized areas should be aware of all you do not get at this place:

The bedroom measured 7 by 10 feet. In this room there was -
No chair (and no room for one)
No desk (ditto)
No closet (ditto)
No tissues
No TV
No phone
No Internet
No spare pillows
One spare electrical outlet (how many "toys" do you have that need recharging? Phone? Computer? Hairdryer?)
One broken lamp (out of two)
This bedroom, along with five others (a total of 12 adults) was expected to share a grand total of two bathrooms on the floor. The bathrooms did not include any grooming products of any kind, nor a hair dryer (bring your own). These 12 adults also share a refrigerator and a water cooler but there are no cooking facilities of any kind.

The "continental breakfast" featured coffee (no decaf), OJ, tea and five types of pastry. No bread, no toast, no bagels, no english muffins, no nothing else - easily the most bare-boned "breakfast" I have ever seen.

There is such a thing as "rustic" and "charming" but there is also such a thing as "unacceptably bad and lacking" - and this place is the latter, I can assure you. This place really sucked the joy out of what should have been a great weekend getaway.

P.S. - The local paper indicates that Gables II is currently for sale, which may explain the "spare every expense" approach you will see here at every turn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Gables in 2009 & 10. Such a cute B&B that offers free beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, coolers and the beach is a quick walk across the street. The room we stayed in could use an air conditioner but there was a ceiling fan that worked out fine. I loved their outdoor shower, easy walk everywhere, definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Gables 2 which is down the street from the Gables. We were on the second floor. There were 3 couples and we had 3 of the rooms on the second floor. There are 6 rooms total with 2 bathrooms that are shared. Thought that might be a problem but it was not. There was always a bathroom open when needed. The rooms in the back of the building had more windows so there was a nice breeze for sleeping. There were also ceiling fans as there is no Air conditioning. We loved the location and spent a lot of time of the second floor deck relaxing. Its a quick walk across the street and you are on the beach. Although if you are up to it I would either walk along the beach, ride a bike or taxi to the other end of the town beach. It is much nicer there-no seaweed or rocks and nice waves for body surfing even on calm days. The Inn provided beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and coolers which was great as you didn't have to bring them from home. Plenty available. Continental breakfast is juice, coffee, tea and packaged pastries so if you are looking for more there is a bagel shop and a Juice and Java shop within 1 block. Would stay again as we loved the location!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Gables Inn is perfect for people who appreciate the low key vibe of Block Island. You should only visit the Island if you can appreciate the natural character, uncluttered beaches, absence of national chain businesses, and beautiful (but early) sunrises. Barbara and Stanley are lifelong island residents and have been in the business their entire lives. They don't pretend to operate a resort, just a charming lodge on a beautiful and unspoiled island. Marthas Vineyard & Palm Beach await if you are high maintenance, Block, Ocracoke, Jekyll, and Captiva are for the rest of us. Only congestion problem is not enough rockers on the porch.

Room Tip: This is your grand mothers house, high beds, no airconditioning, ceiling fans, open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Inn

Address: Dodge Street, Block Island, RI
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian style apartment inn, located minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.