We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with Block Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Inn

Gables Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Inn
Save
You added Gables Inn to your Saves list
Dodge Street, Block Island, RI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fell in love with Block Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Gables in 2009 & 10. Such a cute B&B that offers free beach chairs, towels, umbrellas, coolers and the beach is a quick walk across the street. The room we stayed in could use an air conditioner but there was a ceiling fan that worked out fine. I loved their outdoor shower, easy walk everywhere, definitely recommend staying here

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Gables 2 which is down the street from the Gables. We were on the second floor. There were 3 couples and we had 3 of the rooms on the second floor. There are 6 rooms total with 2 bathrooms that are shared. Thought that might be a problem but it was not. There was always a bathroom open when needed. The rooms in the back of the building had more windows so there was a nice breeze for sleeping. There were also ceiling fans as there is no Air conditioning. We loved the location and spent a lot of time of the second floor deck relaxing. Its a quick walk across the street and you are on the beach. Although if you are up to it I would either walk along the beach, ride a bike or taxi to the other end of the town beach. It is much nicer there-no seaweed or rocks and nice waves for body surfing even on calm days. The Inn provided beach chairs, umbrellas, towels and coolers which was great as you didn't have to bring them from home. Plenty available. Continental breakfast is juice, coffee, tea and packaged pastries so if you are looking for more there is a bagel shop and a Juice and Java shop within 1 block. Would stay again as we loved the location!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The Gables Inn is perfect for people who appreciate the low key vibe of Block Island. You should only visit the Island if you can appreciate the natural character, uncluttered beaches, absence of national chain businesses, and beautiful (but early) sunrises. Barbara and Stanley are lifelong island residents and have been in the business their entire lives. They don't pretend to operate a resort, just a charming lodge on a beautiful and unspoiled island. Marthas Vineyard & Palm Beach await if you are high maintenance, Block, Ocracoke, Jekyll, and Captiva are for the rest of us. Only congestion problem is not enough rockers on the porch.

Room Tip: This is your grand mothers house, high beds, no airconditioning, ceiling fans, open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our room was ready even though we arrived early. Corner room on the third floor with a private bath was comfortable, even though the days were quite hot and humid. Very charming decor, comfy bed, and very clean. Continental breakfast really wasn't much, though...delicious coffee and OJ, but no homemade goodies, just packaged pastries and muffins. We bought yogurt at the nearby supermarket to supplement and stored it in the refridgerator, which was in the parlor.
A nice touch...the Inn provided beach towels, chairs, coolers and umbrellas, which we were welcome to use even on the day we checked out (we took the last boat back home!) We also had free access to glassware for the wine we enjoyed in the evening on the shady lawn.
We've been vacationing on the Block for 30 years and think the Gables is one of the best deals on the island. Not for those looking for luxury, but then, Block Island isn't about luxury! It's about turning into a beach bum for a week or two!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The owner Barbara was extremely unfriendly. We woke with what we thought was an itch and they refused to move us to a different room. The second night we suspected bed bugs. They said they would change the mattress, but only changed the sheets so we complained and were told if we didn't like it to leave. Barbara refused to refund our remaining nights that we had prepaid, and expected the other couple with us to stay there while we left for other lodging.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed at the Gables inn and found it to be a beautiful cottage/inn. We stayed on the third floor which has 4 rooms, each with a private bath. The room was small, but comfortable. It was reasonably priced compared to what the same type of room would cost at other locations.
My husband and I are planning another trip to BI and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The inn keeper was very helpful and kind, even mailed the items I forgot to my home at no cost to me.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We had to make plans to stay on BI last minute due to a quickly planned family wedding in which my husband was the best man. It was very difficult finding a B&B that allowed children, so I was very relieved when the Gables Inn allowed my 3 year old. The prices are reasonable and the location is excellent, right in the middle of all the fun, stores and beach. We stayed in a small private cottage with a kitchen and two beds, porch and living room- very comfortable and clean. We even decided to stay an extra night because we were so happy. I definitely recommend staying here and plan to return!

  • Liked — Friendly service and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Inn

Address: Dodge Street, Block Island, RI
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian style apartment inn, located minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.