We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing, got bed bugs and owner refused to change out the room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Inn

Gables Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Inn
Dodge Street, Block Island, RI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing, got bed bugs and owner refused to change out the room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The owner Barbara was extremely unfriendly. We woke with what we thought was an itch and they refused to move us to a different room. The second night we suspected bed bugs. They said they would change the mattress, but only changed the sheets so we complained and were told if we didn't like it to leave. Barbara refused to refund our remaining nights that we had prepaid, and expected the other couple with us to stay there while we left for other lodging.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed at the Gables inn and found it to be a beautiful cottage/inn. We stayed on the third floor which has 4 rooms, each with a private bath. The room was small, but comfortable. It was reasonably priced compared to what the same type of room would cost at other locations.
My husband and I are planning another trip to BI and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The inn keeper was very helpful and kind, even mailed the items I forgot to my home at no cost to me.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2008

We had to make plans to stay on BI last minute due to a quickly planned family wedding in which my husband was the best man. It was very difficult finding a B&B that allowed children, so I was very relieved when the Gables Inn allowed my 3 year old. The prices are reasonable and the location is excellent, right in the middle of all the fun, stores and beach. We stayed in a small private cottage with a kitchen and two beds, porch and living room- very comfortable and clean. We even decided to stay an extra night because we were so happy. I definitely recommend staying here and plan to return!

  • Liked — Friendly service and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

The inn is quaint and charming. The inkeeper, Barbara, was very friendly and helpful. Nice assortment of breakfast items. The porch was a relaxing place to sit and watch the activities. I expect to return.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2005

Arriving at this inn was a little disappointing, the inn was quite cute tself & had a great balcony basiaclly on the road you could sit out on. The breakfast was basically inedible pastries unfrozen for the morning, the owner was not particularly helpful in giving advice for tourists & overall the rooms were small & overpriced.
Block Island is a beautiflu place to visit, so well worth making the effort to find an equally beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2003

This is a neat old place. Located right in town, the inn offers a porch that's great for people watching. The guest rooms were very nicely done in an old Victorian style. If you want quiet, though, be warned that it is in town. There is a lot of noise in the summer when the bars are letting out. Not much you can do about that. The Island's best coffee shop, Juice n' Java is right across the street. Funky, eclectic, great coffee and pastries. They also have an annex up the street a couple of doors. Haven't been there yet. All in all, a good choice to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Inn

Address: Dodge Street, Block Island, RI
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian style apartment inn, located minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gables Inn to your Saves list