We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Spot Just Outside Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Farm Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Farm Inn
Roslyn Rd, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot Just Outside Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this past Saturday night and were very pleased. Judith was a great host and the rooms were pleasant. Loved the back balcony but wish they were a little more private. Jacuzzi tubs in the room was a huge bonus.

Was convenient to have the bike rental on site and the staff there was accommodating and friendly. Great bikes and all the accessories you could need.

Walked into town easily and slept well after all that walking and biking in the incredibly comfortable beds.

Only negative was breakfast is just continental. Would have been nice to have some eggs and bacon but the website does say it is only continental so no surprise.

Overall a wonderful spot, we will be visiting again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Connecticut, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first trip to Block Island (family of 5) and we had a great time. The RFI is located on a hill overlooking the town, so it's close but not noisy. Its right next to the Atlantic Inn so you can enjoy the bar and restaurant but not have to deal with the noise. We rode our bikes everywhere - the hill to the Inn is a little tiring but not too bad. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are nice and tastefully decorated. Can shower and change after checkout which makes a big difference.

The only downsides were the mattresses were a little soft, and the continental breakfast is just basic. But overall we had a great time and would definitely go back to the RFI.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in the Rose Farm Inn during our first-ever trip to Block Island in late June, 2012. We booked the trip last-minute and this was the only inn with a room available, as all of the other inns (the quiet ones, not the big rowdy ones) had weddings that weekend. My husband and I have three young children and booked a three-night getaway for the two of us to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. The Inn is situated on a beautiful, peaceful property away from the louder scene in town, but it's walking distance to town and a pretty walk (not far at all). We also rented bikes from the on-site rental shop run by the owner's son in-law, and the bikes were in better condition than any of the other bike rentals we saw on the island. If you're going to Block Island to party and stay up late talking with friends, this isn't the inn for you. You'd be better off staying at one of the bigger hotels in town. If you're looking for a quiet getaway where you won't be disturbed, and where you will hear birds singing through the trees, you'll love Rose Farm. The only downside for us was the breakfast, hence the four stars instead of five. The inn doesn't have a kitchen and therefore can't serve a hot breakfast. If you're satisfied with cereal and bagels you'll be fine. We ended up eating a bagel at the inn in the mornings and then riding our bikes for a bit before sitting down to a big hot breakfast in town. We felt the price difference between this inn and the inns that do serve hot breakfasts made up for us having to buy breakfast elsewhere. The Atlantic Inn is just steps away and they serve a hot breakfast that you can purchase separately. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable, and water was good and hot. No complaints, just pleasant breezes and a chance to reconnect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is on beautiful property and a great location, walking distance to town and ferry. The breakfast and food was very basic and mainly processed foods. We decided to eat out the second morning. The service people were nice but not all of them spoke good english. They did not understand when I asked them if the food contained nuts, because I have an allergy. The biggest disappointment of the stay was the bed. The mattress was firm but you could feel and hear the springs. The pillows were also sub par and uncomfortable, bring your own.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowayton, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We booked the Rose Farm Inn for our Aug 2010 stay after a recommendation from a friend, and we were not disappointed. We were very happy to be staying away from the hustle and bustle of town and the ferries- and while it was a walk to town, it is a very pretty walk! At night it is very quiet, and you can just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet. We rented bikes at the place adjacent to the Inn which was definitely the way to get around. The continental breakfast was adequate and a nice touch- it was nice to just wake up and walk to breakfast, and then start our day. We took a taxi to the Inn from the ferry, but ended up walking with our bags to town when we left. Very easy. The Spring House and the Atlantic Inn are right next door and also beautiful. Be warned - no air conditioned - but great sea breezes. No air conditioning is just part of the BI charm. You are not going to BI to spend time in your room! Hoping to get back this summer and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building overlooking the field- very pretty. The rooms are small and not luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I rated the Rose Farm Inn three stars namely because of its location. The Inn is slightly off the beaten path (far enough from the ferry to be in a quiet part of town, but still an easy bike ride or walk to everything). My fiance and I stayed in a room at the Captain Rose House that had a back patio overlooking a meadow. It was the perfect setting to sip some rosé and relax prior to dinner after a hot day at the beach. The reason it is not a four or five star stay is because the rooms were definitely less than perfect. They were a bit outdated and actually a little dark and dreary. Breakfast in the morning was fine but nothing spectacular.

If you are mainly looking for a quiet and relaxed setting, this may be a good stay for you, as you will certainly get that here. For the price, however, I would be expecting just a little something more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We decided last minute to stay overnight on Block Island. This was the 7th B & B I called and they had one room left. The room was spacious and clean. As others have noted the shower design needs to go, nothing will stay on the "shelves" that a re slanted to much to hold anything! Breakfast was average, cold cereals and bagels, crappy danishes, and the owner was taking off the linen table clothes and shaking them off behind the counter and then putting them back on tables. I wasn't too impressed with that!! The best part of our stay was the proximity to town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Farm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Farm Inn

Also Known As:
Rose Farm Hotel
Rose Farm Hotel Block Island
Address: Roslyn Rd, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose Farm Inn is known for its natural setting, romantic rooms and informal hospitality. A working farm until 1963, the twenty acres of farmland are now home to marsh hawks, ring-necked pheasant and white-tailed deer. This peaceful sea and country setting is only a few minutes walk from the village and beaches. The Farm House offers eight rooms, and the Captain Rose House offers nine rooms - all with private baths. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Farm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rose Farm Inn to your Saves list