We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of National Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added National Hotel to your Saves list
National Hotel
Water Street, Block Island, RI   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
May Special!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Only spent one night there. Room wasn't ready at 12ish when we got there, but check in is at 3 so no big deal. Beware though, that when they say there is a place to store your bags, it is merely an UNATTENDED luggage room across from the public restroom in the hallway. At a price of $300 on a Sunday night I would expect there to at least be an attendant. Room was adequate, but extremely dated.

The staff at the hotel were very nice, and the location is right across from the ferry, walking distance to restaurants, beaches and bars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    61
    15
    7
    20
See reviews for
27
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Took 10 children and a friend here for lunch today. The service is earnest. The food is terrible. How can an island in New England have a terrible lobster roll? The lobster meat was crumbled and dry and it was served with fries (perfectly cooked but that's not a culinary rarity) and a tablespoon of coleslaw. Other meals were equally unimpressive: a boneless chicken breast grilled into dust with roasted potatos and two asparagus, a $23. steak that was less than 1/2" thick, pulled pork sandwich with undercooked, rubbery bacon. My youngest daughter waited for her forgotton lunch of chicken tenders so long that we had all finished eating by the time she got her food. The waitress informed us at the end of the meal that the tip was included because of our party size - great. We won't be back. Ever. There is nothing worse than a hospitality business that makes their guests feel like they are being exploited due to a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NationalJulie, General Manager at National Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
First I would like to apologize for the experience you had at the National. It is not what we aim for and I believe that we are much more successful most of the time. Good food and good service are important to us. It is not easy with a seasonal staff in a high volume restaurant and obviously we missed our mark this time. I have addressed the management team with your review and unfortunately they were unaware of the issues at the time. If we had been, we would have tried to correct on the spot. Although no one likes to see negative criticism, we do take the comments seriously and try to prevent this from happening for future patrons of the restaurant.

I hope that you will try the National again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We loved the island and the hotel. We went when it was just a little warm, no AC. We enjoyed all the shops, eatries and bars on the island. Make sure you get to the light house (it was made partialy from old ship timbers)

Room Tip: More windows more breeze, ocean view was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nothing better than having a great meal on the porch of the National. New chef from one of our favorite restaurants, M Waterfront Grille in Naples Fl. The clam appetizer is die for. Spring rolls are unique and extremely tasty and the service is great. This is a must do when visiting the Block.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in the hotel due to its ranking at #1 on block island on tripadvisor. I knew I should have looked into this further because other than the aesthetics of the outside of the hotel, location to everything on Block Island, bar entertainment, and food - this hotel is a complete dump.

The rooms smell like grandma’s feet and I never went barefoot on the maroon smelly carpet. I can get over old furniture because I realize that “this is part of the charm” but my god… the towels, the bedding, and the pillows are older than the building itself. Have you ever wanted to take a shower under a garden spout? There isn’t even a shower head on the shower. A minimum investment that could greatly improve the bathroom experience.

Need some ice for your room? Guess what? YOU have to go down to the bar, crush through the people who are lined up for drink and bring your bucket over to the bartenders. They were so busy getting drinks for everyone else that they actually told ME to help myself to the ice in the back of the bar (thanks guys). Sad thing is, it’s not an ice machine at all but rather a place where they put their drink mixers and have a hand scoop which I’m sure was littered with germs. At that point, I was just so desperate I had to just do it and move on.

The hotel wins points for its location, the amazing entertainment in their bar area, and the food. Hands down it was the best dining we had on the island. I understand old charm and actually relish in it but there's a clear difference between old charm and simply not caring about the quality of the rooms any longer. it was very clear to me that the people coming to the hotel for dining and entertainment come first and the guests come second.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rooms 106 or 108 unless you want to hear the downstairs entertainment all night. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Each year, my girlfriends & I come to Block Island and this is our hotel of choice. The staff is always so nice and very accommodating. The location of the hotel is perfect walking distance to the great spots on the Island. (Capt'n Nick's, Yellow Kittens, Ballard's, shopping, food, etc.)

There's a great fire pit outback where we hang out and have some great talks. You can also have drinks and dinner served there, too.

The rooms don't have air conditioning, but they do give you fans. There is no ice machine, but it's a quick trip to the bar downstairs where they will fill up your cooler.

The breakfast is outstanding. The hotel gives a breakfast coupon for each day of your stay. This can be applied towards either their Continental breakfast (making it free) or towards another menu choice. One morning, I had the fresh fruit with yogurt and homemade granola. YUMMY!!!! Another morning, I had a bacon, egg & cheese on an English muffin with the perfectly seasoned home fries! One of my friends actually ordered a 2nd order of the potatoes since they were so good!

Room Tip: The views from front rooms are of the ocean. The back rooms have a view of the fire pit area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We didnt stay here on our trip, but we swung by to hang at the new patio area in the back before heading out to dinner. Its beautiful and relaxing back there. There are waiters to come serve you drinks and appetizers.

We had the Chicago Dip (artichoke and spinach), was great. Kids can run around. And the overflowing hydrangeas add to the atmosphere!

There's a drink, Killer Lemonade, that's amazing. Downed a few of those, very refreshing on a hot summers day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel

Address: Water Street, Block Island, RI
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Hotel, centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Block Island
National Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.