We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay for BI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added National Hotel to your Saves list
National Hotel
Water Street, Block Island, RI   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
May Special!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice stay for BI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love BI thats why we chose it for a bachelorette party we had in August. Booked two suites here for two nights and they were perfect. We had five people in each and had a cot placed in the room for the fifth person. Since the hotel does not have AC though I would highly recommened spending up and paying for the ocean front room as the breeze is significantly better than the back side of the hotel where the rooms can get hot. We also ate here at night and had a pre fix as we had a large group and the food and service were FANTASTIC. Will definitelly be going back..Plus they have a great back area where you can drink and sit by the fire pit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    61
    15
    7
    20
See reviews for
27
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, MA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We love old New England wooden hotels so with the five star rating from Trip Advisor in mind, we just spent three nights at the National Hotel. We did opt for a larger room as we have stayed at old hotels in the past and knew the regular room would be tiny. The room was spotless, the bathroom small but the sink area was separate which made it easier for two people to get ready at the same time. Our view was of the harbor and the sunrises were spectacular. The food was good, breakfasts especially. I usually opted for the continental breakfast which was included in the room charge but added a side of bacon. My SO had regular breakfasts and the 4.99 fee for the continental breakfast was deducted from the total. We ate dinner at the hotel one night. The meal was good, I had the hot lobster roll which was okay, a good amount of lobster but way too much roll, he had the fish and chips which he thought was quite good.

A few things I wish I’d known sooner: There is a back entrance around the corner which allows you to bypass the very steep front stairs, kind of nice to know when arriving with suitcases. Also out back is a nice covered porch with seating and a lawn area with Adirondack chairs and two fire pits which is nice in the evening.

The staff was excellent with one or two exceptions (nothing serious, just not very friendly). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was contemplating at stay on Block Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Great spot and many laughs in this smaller than lower Manhattan size hotel room! Would definitely recommend and would certainly stay again but be advised...rooms are tiny, beds are squeaky (neighbors will know what you're doing!), you can hear the lady next door pass wind and the shower is like washing up in a phone booth! Other than that it's a great spot to relax and enjoy the island.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Go back 90 years and stay at the National Hotel on Block Island, Rhode Island. Our one night layover at this (not so little) charming hotel was a wonderful "icing on the Labor Day weekend cake.” The National’s simple and (again) charming rooms were complimented by the hotel’s ocean view and backside fire pit porches. The hotel staff was wonderful. This place is worth visiting again/many more times. Thanks National for a great experience.

Room Tip: The corner rooms have wonderful ocean cross breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island, usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our first family trip to the island was a blind visit. Although we have lived in RI all our life, we had never visited Block Island overnight. We chose The National because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Now I am here to report that it was such a wonderful experience that I am here booking again for an Autumn trip. Every staff member we encountered was genuine and helpful. Each one seemed to truly love their job and enjoy thelping the guests of the hotel. The restaurant and rooms were very clean and quaint. You have to understand that you are staying in an historic hotel. I can't wait to go back. PS The outside seating near the firepit is a most romantic way to end an evening!

Room Tip: Go for front room with a view of ocean....corner room is best if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The National has excellent seafood. I have eaten there several times over the past 15 years and it is always good. We were there in July- food was still amazing. No complaints. Highly recommend. Location is in the heart of the downtown across from the ferry station. We did not stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Like any hotel on Block Island, expect to pay a lot during the summer months. What's great about the National it's directly across the street from the ferry and walking distance from just about everything else. The hotel itself is very old but tastefully updated and extremely clean. This is NOT a hotel for the handicap or anyone with mobility issues. There are no elevators and the rooms are very small (our room was 10'x10'). The hotel staff were very pleasant from the front desk to the dining room. In the back garden they have modern gas fire pits that guest can mingle over a drink or two. No matter what time you arrive or leave, the National has a luggage storage closet so that you can enjoy a day at the beach. Overall a nice visit and I would return to the National.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, request a room on the first level so you are only walking up one set of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel

Address: Water Street, Block Island, RI
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Hotel, centrally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Block Island
National Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.