We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Not great hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Harborside Inn

Save Saved
You added The Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harborside Inn
213 Water Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location, Not great hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed there as it was one of the only hotels you could actually make a one-night reservation at. It is conveniently located, and as far as block hotels go reasonably priced (but super overpriced for the room). All I can remember about the hotel really was how HOT it was at night. Granted, we stayed in July during a super hot streak, but the hotel doesn't have AC and most rooms only have 1 window, so there was literally zero circulation. Without exaggeration the room was ~100 degrees when we woke up. Also, because it is so centrally located, it is very loud outside (especially if you are facing front), but you need to keep the windows wide open because of the heat problem. Overall, it's fine if you just need a place to crash are willing to sweat to death. I'd recommend springing an extra few bucks and finding a place with AC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    31
    16
    7
See reviews for
15
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayland MA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had already read TripAdvisor reviews of this hotel so didn't have high expectations. The hotel is a 19th century classic. Since there are so many things to do on the island I wasn't planning to spend much time during the day in the small outdated room. However at night (a Friday) the Harborside turned into a nasty party venue. There is no staff at the desk after 10 p.m.so partying by drunken rude guests went uncontrolled all through the night. We complained to the front desk in the morning after our sleepless night. They assured us there would be someone on site that night. Things were quieter the second night. The hotel is conveniently located across form the ferry landing.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the harbor. Rooms on the back look out over roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Bought a bargain package, mostly to see if BI was a place I'd want to go again. The answer is yes, the island is lovely, couldn't see it all in three days. Lovely vistas, gentle pace, friendly service everywhere and classy shops. HOWEVER, the inn itself was a bust. Tiny rooms, no place to sit but the bed, no room for a chair or a luggage rack. Sink and shower needed cleaning when I arrived after being told my room was "ready". No AC, no carpets, had to go to lobby for ice, bathroom so small you literally could not stand between the toilet and shower. HOWEVER, in exact contrast to hotel, the restaurant downstairs had excellent food though the service was slow and lackadaisical. Staff at both hotel and restaurant spent more time chatting with each other than attending to guests. BTW, there is now wifi in rooms.

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center - this is the resort of the 1920's Rooms with harbor view are noisy fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Nice old New England hotel, no air conditioning. We enjoyed the restaurant, and the view over the harbor is enjoyable.
The WIFI killed me though. They have one router sitting behind the bar for the whole hotel, and it is pathetically slow. The hotel should not even offer this service, it just makes the guests angry.

Room Tip: Don't come in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our second stay at the Harborside Inn and this time the "charm" just didn't cut it. It's difficult to fault a facility directly across from the ferry but this is really a " has been" place. We stayed in the room we had previously stayed as there are only maybe two with air conditioning, however, we pretty much didn't sleep. The rooms are old and not remotely charming, just stale and funky. The restaurant and bar are dark and rather creepy and certainly not welcoming.

The one bright spot is the front porch which is large and comfortable and you can enjoy whatever the bar serves on the porch. Our morning coffee was the highlight at the Harborside as we could escape from our yucky room and enjoy it on the porch.

I will be making reservations for next year and for certain we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't bother with their archaic air conditioner, it looks like a washing machine in your room an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Having stayed here years ago, I knew it was a small room in an old building. We had an oceanview room (which should be called the spectator room because it's more a view of the street and all the people coming off the ferry's!) so I knew to bring a small fan with us - which allowed a nice cross breeze when combined with their fan. Upon arriving, we took our shoes off only to find the floor was inundated with sand and later found bottle caps on the floor that weren't ours - someone forgot to sweep I guess! The hotel has it's charm and we were all about relaxing, so we were fine. Our second night there around 8pm, we were really upset that there was not a stitch of hot water to be had! 8:00 at night ... they told us everyone in the hotel was getting ready to go out, to wait a 1/2 hour. I found this bothersome because we took hot showers just before check out time each day and there was plenty of water. Also, if I do the math correctly, this hotel is pulling in at least $8K a night .. that could certainly buy a heft water heater I would believe!! We met a couple at the front desk who were explaining how they thought they dropped an earring on the floor, only to find a dead bird under the dresser! Guess they didn't sweep that room either! The front desk staff was so/so. The convenience of the luggage room to enjoy another day is ideal! The restaurant was very good for breakfast - a continental breakfast was included - or - you could take $4 off another breakfast selection. For some reason we got the same thing 2 days in a row and our bill was completely different! For lunch, we were disappointed that our food wasn't cooked, but they did accommodate us by taking it off the bill. It's the perfect location and it was quiet enough to get a nice nap in on a drizzly day. I would stay here again, but need to remember the pros/cons and not have any expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I should start off by saying that if you are looking for an "upscale" locations with loads of 5 star hotels and amenities, then Block Island is not for you. The Harborside is an historic building with lots of charm. It is located in the heart of the town and within easy walking distances to beaches, shops, restaurants and bars. As such, you will hear the street noise in the morning and in the evenings. The rooms are small and not much else fits in them besides the bed. We had a large bathroom but others in our party had much smaller ones. The room had a fan but not sure if it would help much on a real hot night. Our TV was really small and the room had no closet. It did have a rack with hangers but they were the kind you could not take off the pole and were difficult to use. Having said all that, the hotel has a lot of charm, the staff was great and added to the relaxed and casual feel of the place. The breakfast was good and the coupons made it very affordable. You are free to store your luggage and beach stuff in their storage room which made if so much easier on check in and check out days. The deck in the front of the hotel is great for sitting and relaxing at any time of day or night.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01-09 are on the side of the hotel not above the restaurant and not as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harborside Inn

Address: 213 Water Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places this 36 room inn is located directly across the street from the Old Harbor Ferry landing and less than a five minute walk to the beach. Each of the rooms have a private bathroom and have undergone renovations including new furnishings, mattresses, and flat screen TVs with Direct TV. As of 2013 every room has air-conditioning! This charming property was built in the late 1800's and offers some of Block Island's most competitive rates. Other amenities include: luggage storage room, complimentary coffee & ice in lobby, complimentary WiFi in lobby, and onsite restaurant. We offer discounted rates for bikes, mopeds, beach chairs and umbrellas when reservations are made online. We also have great midweek packages including ferry tickets, bikes, dining vouchers with a two night stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harborside Hotel Block Island
Harborside Inn Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.