We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time and a Great Deal!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harborside Inn

Save Saved
You added The Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Harborside Inn
213 Water Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Long Island City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great Time and a Great Deal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I was a little nervous about staying at the Harborside Inn because of some of the reviews, but I have to say that we had an excellent experience! We had a 3rd floor corner room that looked right out at the harbor- it was beautiful. The Inn is historic- the floors are crooked and it's really like a step back in time. Our room was very simple- but also very clean and neat. The people at the front desk were helpful and pleasant. We took advantage of a mid week special and enjoyed everything!!!! Thank you Harborside! See you again :)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the harbor- most probobly do
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    25
    13
    7
See reviews for
13
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The Harborside is always a good place to stay, where you can expect a clean room, great location and fair price. Nothing on Block Island is fancy, so this is not the place to go if you are looking for resort-style accommodations. This is Block Island . . . at it's best! And the breakfast included in the summer months makes Harborside an even better deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

After reading a few reviews who moaned about this and that, we were pleasantly surprised to find our room cheerful, clean with a fantastic view out to the sea and harbor.. We received a warm welcome and on arrival had lunch at the hotel. Our waiter Justin couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. That's what will keep us coming back to the Harborside ..... staff like Justin! He gave us advice on where to eat, drink and swim ..... And that was when he was off duty!

It's an old hotel with charm and character, which is what we liked about it. Every morning we sat out on the veranda with our coffee and were able to check our emails! We were told there was free wi-fi in the lobby, but it worked in our room too.

If we had one suggestion it would be to up grade the shower. But it wasn't a major worry, the towels were lovely new white fluffy ones, which was nice.

Looking forward to another visit later in the year when Brooklyn gets to be too much!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have family on Block Island so I NEVER stay at hotels. However, I booked two rooms at the Harborside Labor Day weekend 2011 for a girls' weekend before my wedding. The rooms were clean and organized. The hotel is right in town across from the Block Island ferry, so there is easy access to all beaches, shops, restaurants, bars, and transportation. Rent a bike or walk the island. Mopeds are not a good idea because you're not allowed to ride them down dirt roads, and the most beautiful sights are at the ends of dirt roads. The cab stand is also right across the street from the Harborside. Be sure to have a lobster roll before you leave!! I could go on...

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a basic hotel, but a good deal if you don't plan to spend much time in your room.

Pros:
The staff were friendly and efficient.
The room was very clean.
We had a suite with a queen bed and a sofa bed, which worked well for our daughter.
The location is ideal - right in the middle of the town and right across from the ferry.

Cons:
The mattress was hard.
Breakfast was not included in May - the website says breakfast is included in July and August.
We could hear the tv in another room - you may want to bring some white noise.
We were cool enough as our visit was in May, but I think the inside rooms without air conditioning could be quite hot in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

ok, you're not in the best bed n breakfast, but you r centrally located, and their special mid week deal is great. you get bikes, locks, everyday, plus a 150 rest. voucher, ---catch, u can only use in in 2 places, but they're ok, the pub is better. but their service, and free breakfast, which is really good, you get everything in a continental and more, yogurt, bagals, juice, coffee, fruit, cereal, ---you can up more than once. real nice before you set out for your day. we will probably go here again, especially for the package. plus one half hour kyack rental, which isn't much , but you get to try, my girlfriend never went. it was fun. a little noisy, but it never really bothered us, we went right to sleep. pretty good.

Room Tip: we liked the second floor better than the 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, CT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We're a middle-aged couple who bikes. This hotel was easy to get to. We just took our bikes on the ferry, then walked across the street to the hotel. They have a big room where you can leave your stuff before check-in time, so we were free to start exploring the island. It was our first time to Block Island, so we were booking blind. I'm so glad we booked this hotel for location. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else without a car. Room was tiny. Wanted to keep our bikes in the room for safety but didn't even have enough room between the bed and the walls to put them, so one went up on its back wheel and we squeezed in. A little noisy with restaurant traffic below, but we had an AC so it drowned out the noise. Don't let anyone tell you that you that "the ocean breeze" is always enough -- on July 4 it was really HOT and we were so happy to get one of the few air conditioned rooms on the island. Hotel was old but quaint, charming, and we loved eating out on the deck in front. Only negative was that they told us we could put our bikes on the racks in the lot behind the hotel during the day, then some genius decided to move the entire bike rack across the street with our bikes locked onto it -- damaged irreparably the paint on my husband's bike. But all in all, was a great trip. We love Block Island!

Room Tip: I'd go with the AC room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harborside Inn

Address: 213 Water Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places this 36 room inn is located directly across the street from the Old Harbor Ferry landing and less than a five minute walk to the beach. Each of the rooms have a private bathroom and have undergone renovations including new furnishings, mattresses, and flat screen TVs with Direct TV. As of 2013 every room has air-conditioning! This charming property was built in the late 1800's and offers some of Block Island's most competitive rates. Other amenities include: luggage storage room, complimentary coffee & ice in lobby, complimentary WiFi in lobby, and onsite restaurant. We offer discounted rates for bikes, mopeds, beach chairs and umbrellas when reservations are made online. We also have great midweek packages including ferry tickets, bikes, dining vouchers with a two night stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harborside Hotel Block Island
Harborside Inn Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.