We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hike!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Lighthouse

North Lighthouse
Corn Neck Rd., Block Island, RI
401 466 3200
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 attractions in Block Island
Type: Lighthouses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Granite built lighthouse at Sandy Point, Block Island.
new york
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a hike!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Lighthouse lovers will do whatever it takes to get to a lighthouse! It's being restored, so it will be in good shape for summer. We also saw seals beyond the lighthouse on the beach.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Scenic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The walk to this lighthouse was our favorite walk of the trip. The ocean is at your right and a beautiful pond is on your left as you walk towards the lighthouse. Once at the lighthouse you can take the trail down to the beach. There are scenic views and it is a very natural setting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well its just a light house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just a lighthouse, nothing more. wasn't open and difficult to get to, don't go there for sunset almost impossible to traverse after dark. Cool building though

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I married the love of my life here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Jill , I miss you soo much . Thank you for all the greatest memories in my life and sharing your life with me. The north light house and you in block island I dream of everyday , so precious and I hold you so close in my heart. Your the love of my life and I'll never let go, I love you forever Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just go !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

...If your visiting Rhode Island it's worth the nice drive down to Galilee to catch the ferry over to Block Island. (Be sure to poke around the fish markets in Galilee to see some huge 20+ lb lobsters waiting to be sold) I grew up playing here in the 60's & 70's (We used to go inside to climb up to the top!) I still love to take friends over & show them around. The north lighthouse is a great spot for some nice photos if you don't mind the sandy walk.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Lighthouse also viewed

 

Been to North Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added North Lighthouse to your Saves list