We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time at Blue Dory Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dory Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Dory Inn
Save
You added Blue Dory Inn to your Saves list
61 Dodge Street, P.O. Box 488, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Sicklerville, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Time at Blue Dory Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

It was our first visit to Block Island, RI. and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blue Dory Inn. Ann the owner was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts each morning prepared by Maria were delicious and there was always a good variety.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rundezvous, Owner at Blue Dory Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Our goal is to provide a wonderful accommodation experience. We are delighted that we met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    77
    43
    19
    20
See reviews for
63
187
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

For such a highly rated B&B, I definitely was expecting a lot more than what we got. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. However, the housekeeper never cleaned it during our stay (we were there for 2 nights) even though we were out of the room all day. And breakfast was advertised from 8-10, but if you weren't there by 9 you pretty much got whatever food was left over. The eggs -- what little was left -- were left on a hot plate, so you had to heat them in a microwave. I was disappointed that there was no outdoor patio or any place to sit outdoors, with the exception of three rocking chairs on the front porch. The only gathering space -- the front parlor -- was stuffy and overcrowded with uncomfortable furniture. For the afternoon wine it was very crowded without enough room for everyone. But the cookies were good! Our room was in the front of the house, so we heard all the road noise (surprisingly a lot of cars and trucks for early in the season), including a diesel truck idling outside at 6 AM. You can also hear the crowd gathered at night on the outdoor patio at the National Hotel, located across the street. If you want a quite, serene get-a-way, this is not the place. If you want a convenient location to the main part of town and an easy walk to the ferry or beach, and you're an early riser, than you might like this place. The innkeeper, Ann, is very nice.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website are pretty accurate, but don't mention whether the rooms are in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rundezvous, Owner at Blue Dory Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Unfortunately this guest did not know that we have an outdoor deck and patio for everyone's use.
We are also very happy to make eggs to order when requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went to Block Island for the week-end of May 16 (2014). It was our first trip to the island, and we'd go back tomorrow! We stayed in one of the "Waverley Suites" of the Blue Dory Inn, and had wonderful homemade breakfasts each morning in the lovely dining area in the Inn itself. Anne...Cassandra...Maria...each one of them went out of their way to ensure that we had the most perfect week-end possible. They were helpful without being intrusive, and had answers for any question that we asked.
Enjoy all of your moments,
Pat, Steve, and Sammie (dog)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rundezvous, Owner at Blue Dory Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Because we know how important it is to experience some quality "down time" in this busy world,
we want to do whatever we can to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Blue Dory has become our favorite relaxing getaway. The inn is charming, the room was immaculate, and Ann and her staff are warm and gracious hosts. Maria's breakfasts are wonderful. We are already talking about our next stay. Five stars.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rundezvous, Owner at Blue Dory Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Needless to say, we so appreciated your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A gal week and it couldn't have been better. Met and talked with very very interesting guests. Stayed in the main house... Ann was so accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful (except) we cooked our own bacon!!!! Ann is a vegan. But her little cook Maria did a great job. We rented a smart car (which was smart on our part)... we toured the island visiting lovely lovely sites. A very interesing sunset horseback ride with a definite island character was to say very interesting.
We did visit the island before the Memorial Day rush and it was definitely the best thing we did!
The beach right behind the Blue Dory is wonderful.

Room Tip: Higher floor would have been quieter. We were on the bottom at the front door. BUT the fresh air an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rundezvous, Owner at Blue Dory Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Comments from our guests are extremely important in helping us serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I rarely get away so we are very careful about researching our vacations. The Blue Dory was, in a word, "fabulous". Private, yet convenient to all the amenities the island has to offer visitors. The beach is right behind the house, so you wake up to the beautiful sound of the waves breaking on the shore. The included breakfasts were delicious and healthy. Another bonus was the tea time with snacks and wine. Anne was a most gracious hostess and helped make our stay a wonderful memory! Thank you, Anne!

Room Tip: We are very tall and had to crouch a little on one side of our room. Queen Anne's Lace. A minor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rundezvous, Owner at Blue Dory Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
So delighted to hear that we helped you create a wonderful memory not just an accommodation.
That is always our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I (and our little Schnoodle Olli) had the pleasure of staying in the Tea House room this past weekend. We come regularly to the island, and normally rent a house. For a shoulder season birthday weekend, the Blue Dory was PERFECT. We arrived earlier than the check-in time, and with a long line forming behind me from the ferry (an easy walk), our B & B owner/hostess was calm and lovely as I asked complicated questions regarding a room change for the first night. She was as steady as she could be, focused on the answer leading to a quick and positive resolution of the question. We all stowed our luggage and took off to explore, and check in time (early) was accommodated as quickly as was humanly possible. The breakfast was superb. The room was clean, simple, quiet and cozy. The view out the windows to the sea was so pretty it hurt a little. This inn is FRIENDLY. Loved the little nooks and patios to sit outside, expanding our space. You won't need a car if you stay here, especially if you ride a bike; and the B I library is across the street if the weather's not great (a wonderful place to hang out). We will definitely be back here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear with a view. A couple of rooms will accommodate a well behaved dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rundezvous, Owner at Blue Dory Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Block Island provides a wonderful respite from everyday cares. So pleased to hear that we helped provide an environment that enhanced your renewal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dory Inn

Address: 61 Dodge Street, P.O. Box 488, Block Island, RI 02807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional victorian inn is a historical landmark on Block Island, having been in operation as an inn for over 100 years. We are conveniently located steps from the beach as well as directly in town. Your attentive hostesses are owner Ann Law and innkeeper/cook Leda Nascimento, and we would be pleased for you to stay with us for your Block Island getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dory Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.