We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving splendor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dory Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Dory Inn to your Saves list
Blue Dory Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   61 Dodge Street, P.O. Box 488, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlestown, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
“Thanksgiving splendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had a great time on our second visit in 2 yrs. My husband and our dog Sonny love being together and the inn makes this possible. It was Thanksgiviing and dinner was excellent with 30 people at the inn. The afternoon happy hour is a fun way to meet people. The weather cooperated and there was little evidence of Hurrican Sandy. Keep up the good work Ann and Marty.

Room Tip: The cottages are small but great for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    77
    43
    19
    20
See reviews for
63
188
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had a great time, even though it rained throughout our stay. The Inn was charming, the afternoon cookies sensational and the breakfast buffet was beyond expectations, with wonderful new treats every morning. We will absolutely return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This was our second visit & I have to say my review is not as glowing as last time but I can't say specifically why. Perhaps because it was my second time I had higher expectations. It's a clean place, but very dated. I would rather pay a bit more for something more refined or just rent a house. We stayed in the Avalon room just off the front entrance but we had a small porch & could enter thru the back without having to go thru the front. Our bathroom was really small & cramped. Also I think in a year's time, it has since aged. A good thing is that the Inn is pet friendly. Not many places on BI allow dogs although the island is very dog friendly. This really is the only reason I would chose to stay here. The Inn is a 2 min walk from the ferry & typically we would stay somewhere that was more off the beaten path.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Blue Dory Inn, hosted by owner Ann Law, and it was simply divine. If you love Victoriana, personalized and friendly service, delicious breakfasts and a cozy private room, this is the place for you. After a long 3 hour hike, I truly enjoyed soaking in the jacuzzi tub back in our room. We stayed in "Cupid's Corner", but every room in the inn is totally charming. There is a shower as well as Dish TV, an adorable feline mascot named Simon, and a great staff to take care of your every need. It was so wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean waves and to be able to get up, grab a coffee, and walk the beach at sunrise. We will definitely be back! Definitely a great couples inn, nice and romantic. Thank you for a wonderful time, Ann!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Waverly III unit which has a fantastic view of the ocean. The accommodations were excellent and the staff there was friendly and helpful.The Wine and cheese tasting was great along with the breakfast served every morning. This is a great place to go in the off season as long as you like to read or just relax and enjoy the scenery. We brought our 2 Labs which they were totally enjoying, running around the beaches at different locations on the island.

Room Tip: If there are just 2 of you the smaller rooms are fine but if it rains then it might be a little cra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Inn was full for an off season weekend! Staff and facility were great Can be a little cramped for breakfast as the two inns use the Dory brekfast facility, simillarly with the wine tasting but a minor issue and even less so durning warm weather as there are small tables in the back of the Inn.
Good location, good value this time of year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Avonlea/Blue Dory for 6 years to celebrate our anniversary in September. The Avonlea is amazingly relaxing, comfortable and the service and staff are fantastic. We love Block Island in September and are stay at this very quaint B&B never disapoints. The location is great - so close to town and a beautiful of the water.

Room Tip: The Moonstone room at the Avonlea is heaven. We also stayed in one of the little cottages with our 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Dory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dory Inn

Address: 61 Dodge Street, P.O. Box 488, Block Island, RI 02807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Dory Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional victorian inn is a historical landmark on Block Island, having been in operation as an inn for over 100 years. We are conveniently located steps from the beach as well as directly in town. Your attentive hostesses are owner Ann Law and innkeeper/cook Leda Nascimento, and we would be pleased for you to stay with us for your Block Island getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Dory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dory Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.