We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish Tacos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tap & Grille

Tap & Grille
Water Street, PO Box 189, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-2901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 55 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The National Hotel Tap & Grille is a full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The outdoor porch overlooks the harbor and offers a great view of the ocean. The menu specializes in steaks and seafood but has a wide variety for all tastes. We also have an indoor and an outdoor bar with live entertainment every weekend in July and August.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Tap and Grill were recommended for their fish tacos. I never tried them before, but my son had them in Mexico and raved about them. I thought I would give them a try. Fantastic!!! Our server, Sara H. also recomended them. Sara provided great service. Only wish we were staying longer on the Island, so that we could return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SUPER LOCATION!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoyed drinks here, dinner another night and ended our trip with breakfast here. Would highly recommend the clam chowder. The fish and chips are also great ... don't bother with the macaroni salad .. it is very boring!!! And if you like martini's, the coconut martini is awesome! We spent an afternoon sitting on the porch watching the ferry's come and go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Space at the National Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Grand, wonderful porch for outside dining. Also loved the Fireside in the back where one can sit around 2 fire pits while sipping a mojito or Irish coffee.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

It was great to sit outside and eat over looking the Ocean and watching the ferries. The food was good and reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Best food we ate on the island, had lunch and dinner. Great view of the harbor. Gets busy and noisy but we never had to wait. Underrated for sure!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap & Grille also viewed

 
Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Tap & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tap & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.