We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER LOCATION!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tap & Grille

Tap & Grille
Water Street, PO Box 189, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-2901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 55 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The National Hotel Tap & Grille is a full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The outdoor porch overlooks the harbor and offers a great view of the ocean. The menu specializes in steaks and seafood but has a wide variety for all tastes. We also have an indoor and an outdoor bar with live entertainment every weekend in July and August.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“SUPER LOCATION!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoyed drinks here, dinner another night and ended our trip with breakfast here. Would highly recommend the clam chowder. The fish and chips are also great ... don't bother with the macaroni salad .. it is very boring!!! And if you like martini's, the coconut martini is awesome! We spent an afternoon sitting on the porch watching the ferry's come and go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Space at the National Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Grand, wonderful porch for outside dining. Also loved the Fireside in the back where one can sit around 2 fire pits while sipping a mojito or Irish coffee.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

It was great to sit outside and eat over looking the Ocean and watching the ferries. The food was good and reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Best food we ate on the island, had lunch and dinner. Great view of the harbor. Gets busy and noisy but we never had to wait. Underrated for sure!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Party of eight. We knew it was not going to be a McDonald pricetag. So yea over two bills for lunch for four teens and four adults, but the views were great. And the Pt Judith Calimari was really good. I went with the fish tacos and so did KA. They were different meals. Mine was missing the sauce that tied it all together. Uh oh. Didn't realize it until after they were gone and I looked at her plate! Still good. Fresh tasting for sure. No sauce to hide any off flavors!!! I just finsihed hiking out the Mohegan Bluffs so I was hot and hungry.

We will be back. Enjoyed it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap & Grille also viewed

 
Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 

Been to Tap & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tap & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.