We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPER LOCATION!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tap & Grille

Tap & Grille
32T Water St, PO Box 189, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-2901
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The National Hotel Tap & Grille is a full service restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The outdoor porch overlooks the harbor and offers a great view of the ocean. The menu specializes in steaks and seafood but has a wide variety for all tastes. We also have an indoor and an outdoor bar with live entertainment every weekend in July and August.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“SUPER LOCATION!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoyed drinks here, dinner another night and ended our trip with breakfast here. Would highly recommend the clam chowder. The fish and chips are also great ... don't bother with the macaroni salad .. it is very boring!!! And if you like martini's, the coconut martini is awesome! We spent an afternoon sitting on the porch watching the ferry's come and go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    24
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Space at the National Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Grand, wonderful porch for outside dining. Also loved the Fireside in the back where one can sit around 2 fire pits while sipping a mojito or Irish coffee.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

It was great to sit outside and eat over looking the Ocean and watching the ferries. The food was good and reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Best food we ate on the island, had lunch and dinner. Great view of the harbor. Gets busy and noisy but we never had to wait. Underrated for sure!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Party of eight. We knew it was not going to be a McDonald pricetag. So yea over two bills for lunch for four teens and four adults, but the views were great. And the Pt Judith Calimari was really good. I went with the fish tacos and so did KA. They were different meals. Mine was missing the sauce that tied it all together. Uh oh. Didn't realize it until after they were gone and I looked at her plate! Still good. Fresh tasting for sure. No sauce to hide any off flavors!!! I just finsihed hiking out the Mohegan Bluffs so I was hot and hungry.

We will be back. Enjoyed it.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Tap & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tap & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.