We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spring House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring House Hotel
Save
You added Spring House Hotel to your Saves list
52 Spring Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
P
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not my cup of tea”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2007

The Spring House Hotel was missing a few things that I always look for in a hotel such as, air conditioning, TV, and curtains. I did not make these reservations myself so I was shocked to find that the hotel did not have air conditioning. When we arrived in our room, no assistance in finding it or brining up our luggage, it was very warm. We survived by leaving the windows open all night. This worked but there were no curtains in the room. Just a decorative valence and mini blinds. So in order to sleep comfortably we couldn't close the mini blinds. I would have preferred some sheer curtains for privacy. Also the bed in room 311 was very uncomfortable. The first night there I could barely sleep.

Overall it was bad, this just isn't my type of hotel.

  • Liked — Location - it was easy to walk to retaurants and shops
  • Disliked — The bed, no air conditioning, no curtains, no tv, no internet, very overpriced, can look at the ocean but no beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    23
    17
    27
See reviews for
25
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich Connecticut
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2007

I having been coming to Block Island for many years and always like to try new hotels on the Island. I was very disappointed by the dirty conditions of the rooms. There was mold and mildew on the ceilings in the bathroom. For $400 per night I would expect better conditions. The staff was rude and the morning breakfast was not edible. It consisted of stale bagels, cold coffee and spoiled fruit. Several guests complained to the owner, who did not care. The owner has no concept of customer service. He was as obnoxious as his staff. This hotel needs a face lift and a new owner who cares about customer satisfaction. There are much better places to stay on this Island.

  • Liked — The view of the Atlantic Ocean
  • Disliked — The rooms were dirty, the staff was rude and the hotel overpriced
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Plains, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

After reading all the terrible reviews regarding the Spring House Hotel in Block Island, I figured I would defend the place!

I have been there every 4th of July for about 4 years now, and I absolutely LOVE the place!

I will say that this is not a place for people who want A/C and a TV...frankly, stay home if you want that. If you are on vacation, why are you in your hotel room watching TV?? Remember one thing...this is a Victorian Era hotel..they didn't have TV's or A/C back then.

The Spring House is a place for people who want to gather on the wrap around porch, have a cocktail and take in the spectacular views of the ocean and feel the breeze, or be out on the back patio and hang with friends and family. It is a place for people to gather in the warm and cozy bar in the front of the hotel, to sit on the front lawn with your kids and fly a kite or watch the boats on the water.

I can't believe that people could have a bad time at this place!

As far as the A/C goes, Block Island can get very cold at night. My husband and I have never once said...man, I wish they had A/C. Just open your windows and let the cool ocean breeze come in!

I hope that people will realize how much this place has to offer! It is a charming hotel.

I will say that the rooms are not the best, the shower is a trickle and they can be small and the floors not even, but this place is old! You are not paying 300+ a night for the room, you are paying for atmosphere. I would say it is TOTALLY worth it!

If you want A/C, Cable TV, no noise...Stay at the Holiday Inn. If you want romance, elegance, beauty, fun...Stay at the Spring House Hotel!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport, ct
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

Not a place to bring kids. Rooms are small, there is no a/c or tv. The breakfast served was awlful - we stayed there 4 days - 2 out of 4 the bagels were stale and we had to complain. Coffee was cold. Fresh fruit just sat there for hours - warm.


Staff not helpful. Wouldn't heat up a mac and cheese for me.

Deck and lawn view are very nice but you could stay at the 1881 where the service is great and just walk over to sit on the lawn.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — service - price
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trumbull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

Stay at the Spring House. It was a lovley stay, the view, the staff, and the menu was exceptional. Absolute wonderful service. Planning on returning in the next few weeks. Great Job!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2006

This is an incredible example of how not to run a hotel. We overlooked the first few rude examples of employees because we came to have a great time and didn't want to be negative. But the rudeness never stopped. It's unbelievable to me how a hotel can ask you for $400/night, then treat you like a piece of gum stuck to the bottom of their shoe. We even found (one of) the owner to be obnoxious and oblivious to running a customer-service establishment. Staying at the Spring House hotel for one night ruined our whole visit to Block Island. The place desperately needs new ownership.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Tips/Secrets — do not stay there!! run, run away
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven CT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2006

Find another place. Mold on bath ceiling. One bar of soap, no AC. There living off the past.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Hotel

Address: 52 Spring Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring House Hotel, built in 1852, is Block Island's largest and oldest hotel. Set atop a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean as well as the spring from which we take our name, the property provides views which cannot be beat. Being a ten minute walk from Old Harbor, the Spring House provides an oasis which can be enjoyed from our Adirondack chairs, wrap-around porch, and East overlook patio. Great pride is taken in our seed-to-table mission in both of our two on-site restaurants. Three gardens and a greenhouse provide fresh produce creating delicious dining options on both our Dining Room and Bistro menus. Simply choose your preference of formal or casual food and setting upon arrival. Indoor and outdoor seating is available for both. Between the Main Building and the Mott House (an Annex Building located 20 yards away), there are 50 hotel rooms to rent, ranging from 1-bed standards up to studios and suites. Two apartments and four houses are also available to rent on property, as well as off-property Town Homes. Block Island thrives during the summer, between Memorial Day and Labor Day. During this time, all of the above-listed dining and hotel options are available. Outside of this time frame, the Dining Room menu is closed. The Bistro menu remains open along with the Main Building Hotel from April through October. The Spring House Hotel provides a beautiful setting for weddings and special events which are frequently hosted on the weekends. In the effort to provide our nuptial couples the exclusive setting, our food and beverage outlets may be closed during these events. During the off-season (November-April), the Main Building Hotel is closed and only our Barn Suites and Houses are available for rent. Last winter was the grand opening of The Barn Restaurant, providing an intimate dining experience Wednesdays-Sundays for dinner only. The restaurant, fitting only 30-35 patrons, features an open-concept kitchen and a truly unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.