We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erika C” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring House Hotel
Save
You added Spring House Hotel to your Saves list
52 Spring Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Erika C”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We visited during the Fourth of July week, which is the busiest week of the season, and we stayed in one of the houses available at the Spring House Hotel. The house was very clean and well maintained. The location was ideal as it was walking distance to the shops/resteraunts yet still felt private and was very quiet. The service was excellent as the staff was more than willing to accommodate our requests. The hotel is a family run business and it is evident in their hands on approach and hospitality. The resteraunt provided a top quality meal and was well worth the $$. (The Seafood Paella was out of is world as were the Diver Scallops.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    23
    17
    27
See reviews for
25
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Midweek two night stay in July is still $350/night plus tax so I guess for that price I expect a bit more.

Good: Upon check-in we were told about Martini night the following night and given the option to switch rooms as our original room was right above the bar the band would be performing in until 1am. So we switched rooms

Bad: martini night martini night martini night and the very seasonal staff

Overall disappointed that we were not told the kitchen closes early for martini night, they accommodated several guests who were there to eat but not us who were staying at the hotel and wanted to have dinner -- we went to Manisses and had a wonderful dinner. We did eat dinner there the first night -- no table set up the waiter seemed rushed and very new. Breakfast was the same, no table set up, confusion, newness.

The room has ZERO amenities

The view is gorgeous.

Next time on Block we will stay somewhere else but run up to the porch for a cocktail/ the view -- that seems to be who they cater to anyway

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Spring House is still holding its local charm. Seat youselves on the wrap around deck or just relax on the lawn overlooking the ocean. The kind of view that goes beyond beautiful as it places your mind and body in a relaxed state of which we all revere. The staff is outstanding and strives to please with overall comfortable accomodations throughout the property. I have been going to Block Island for years and there is no better place to stay. Enjoy the food and drink but most of all the personality of this outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must if available and this year they have added air conditioning to numerous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyster Bay
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Recently spent a weekend here and it is one of the top places to stay on Block Island. Sitting high on a bluff overlooking the ocean, there is a constant breeze. The deck is great for sitting and enjoying afternoon drinks and while we did not eat dinner there, the breakfasts were very good. We had a corner room which was spacious and was one of the few rooms with AC. The hotel is old and if you don't appreciate the charm that comes with an old building then the Spring House, and Block Island for that matter, is not for you. It is a short walk from the Spring House to the town and the beach.

One issue that we had and which was resolved was that our room was directly over the bar and guests who were staying there arranged with the hotel for a DJ to perform there. The noise and the vibration were so loud that our room may have well been in the bar! When we complained the next day that we should have been told that there would be a DJ playing loudly until after 1am and at least given the option to switch rooms. The desk clerk appologized but said there was nothing she could do - basically too bad that you spent $350 a night for a room that was over the bar. When my wife asked to speak to the manager, she explained that it was a last minute request by a large group that stays there every year. While we can understand the need to accomodate a large group of long time guests, it was a decision she made at the expense of other guests who were not told there would be a DJ playing till after 1am and not given any opportunity to switch rooms. Ultimately, we received a credit that we felt was fair and reasonable and continued our stay. The manager was very apologetic and cognizant of the issue. My advice is that if you stay in any room numbered 212-218 that you ask whether any band or DJ will be playing and to what time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed two night just before he 4th of July...wonderful old building with wonderful view of ocean. Room was small but comfortable with nice bathroom Amenities were somewhat Spartan- we had to ask for a hairdryer...no air conditioner

Grand dinning room and very good food.....service throughout but especially on the porch was uneven

Nonetheless- you must have a drink in the late evening while sitting in the Adirondack chairs and looking down to the ocean

Room Tip: Good views on the ocean side better breezes on land side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was there for the Block Island Race Week and staying on a boat except for the one night.

Location is great for tourists, you're an easy walk to the ferry, restaurants, bars, ice cream places. Can't really beat the view being up on the hill and overlooking the water on the front and side patio with those killer Adirondack chairs to lounge in.

Room was in the "mansion", not the main hotel. Had to walk 3 flights of stairs. Pretty small by normal standards but extremely reasonable for an old house / boutique hotel. Queen size bed, full tub shower, small dresser and closet. Water was hot within seconds, didn't run out after 3 of us in a row showered. No blow dryer. No air conditioning, but window opened nicely and the ceiling fan kept it reasonable. << I know this all may sound scary to some, but I've stayed with my fair share of unique, old, or exotically located hotels and this did the best with what it could while still keeping the authentic awesome feel of the old buildings.

Main building is beautiful. Huge shaded porch with couches and chairs where you can order drinks and light apps. Full dining and bar inside. Staff is all imported, and very friendly as long as you're not impatient with helping them understand what you're trying to say.

Bar is awesome and large. Nice seating areas around the bar with couches and chairs. Signature cocktail menu was short, but varied. Beer selection was bottles only, and depressingly sad in length and selection (bud, corona, etc - nothing fun). Can't speak for the wine, didn't look.

Didn't eat dinner there but saw the menu ($$$$). Saturday brunch was reasonable. I enjoyed a eggs benedict with crab and sweet corn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Spring House this past weekend. We went for a wedding which took place on their grounds -it was beautiful!
Location:
devine! It is about a 10 minute walk (uphill) from the ferry. If you dont have too much luggage, the walk is worth it. The hotel sits at the top of the hill, overlooking the water. You couldnt ask for a better location.
Food:
we only ate breakfast here (outside of what we ate at the wedding which was great!). It was fresh and delicious. The coffee was extra delicious! I liked that we could get fresh fruit instead of homefries. A definitie plus for me.
Service:
All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The bartenders engaged in coversation and the front desk staff even printed my ferry tickets for me.
Room:
We stayed in the smaller building to the side of the main building. We actually recommend this, as the main building can get busy and loud. The rooms in the front have an ocean view, however we stayed in the back corner (room M11), overlooking the garden. It was perfect for us. Clean, comfortable and the breeze kept it cool. You definitely dont need air con when you have a sea breeze (and in some cases a whistling wind!). Rooms have cable TV, phone. ceiling fan, ice bucket, and bath with a shower.

Room Tip: We stayed in M11 which is not in the main house. It is on third floor and has a view over the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Hotel

Address: 52 Spring Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring House Hotel, built in 1852, is Block Island's largest and oldest hotel. Set atop a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean as well as the spring from which we take our name, the property provides views which cannot be beat. Being a ten minute walk from Old Harbor, the Spring House provides an oasis which can be enjoyed from our Adirondack chairs, wrap-around porch, and East overlook patio. Great pride is taken in our seed-to-table mission in both of our two on-site restaurants. Three gardens and a greenhouse provide fresh produce creating delicious dining options on both our Dining Room and Bistro menus. Simply choose your preference of formal or casual food and setting upon arrival. Indoor and outdoor seating is available for both. Between the Main Building and the Mott House (an Annex Building located 20 yards away), there are 50 hotel rooms to rent, ranging from 1-bed standards up to studios and suites. Two apartments and four houses are also available to rent on property, as well as off-property Town Homes. Block Island thrives during the summer, between Memorial Day and Labor Day. During this time, all of the above-listed dining and hotel options are available. Outside of this time frame, the Dining Room menu is closed. The Bistro menu remains open along with the Main Building Hotel from April through October. The Spring House Hotel provides a beautiful setting for weddings and special events which are frequently hosted on the weekends. In the effort to provide our nuptial couples the exclusive setting, our food and beverage outlets may be closed during these events. During the off-season (November-April), the Main Building Hotel is closed and only our Barn Suites and Houses are available for rent. Last winter was the grand opening of The Barn Restaurant, providing an intimate dining experience Wednesdays-Sundays for dinner only. The restaurant, fitting only 30-35 patrons, features an open-concept kitchen and a truly unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.