We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs too!! Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Spring House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring House Hotel
Save
You added Spring House Hotel to your Saves list
52 Spring Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
wash dc
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bed bugs too!! Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 2 nights mid-August at this "historic" inn...The setting is spectacular and we were there for 2 nights in the secondary bldg (at $280 ish per night) ...the room was mediocre at best and the real disappointment was a profound case of bed bug bites, 100+ , within 24 hours of checking out. It was the most
awful experience of my travelling life!

Setting that aside, the staff is aloof, clearly seasonal and the only thing to commend the place is the location, with lovely views...Not sure where would be better on this Island, but certain that we will never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidProvidence, General Manager at Spring House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
The spring house hotel is typical of the historic ocean front inn, originally built in 1852, with room sizes which are typical of 19th century inns along the east coast. We boast a yearly 90% occupancy level of which many are returning guests. With only fifty rooms, it is difficult to offer guests larger accommodations when, after arrival at this remote location, there is not much that can be done if they don’t like the size or type of room they booked. We are always happy to upgrade guests when space permits. I am always happy to meet with quests that have an issue which requires attention such as this. As for the 100+ bedbug bites, I can assure anyone desiring to stay with us that these slanderous, baseless and unfounded by a professional pest control company, reviews which seem to appear weeks after their stay and not being happy with the room type they selected. Perhaps they should do a bit more research prior to booking. As a general manager with over thirty years of industry experience, I thoroughly stand behind our reputation as a leading service provider to our guests and look forward to greeting many more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    33
    23
    17
    27
See reviews for
25
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're willing to throw away $225 a night on a 10x10 room in the off season then the Spring House is the place to do just that! We came for a wedding which was fantastic however the rooms themselves leave little to be desired. The rooms do not have a fridge, air conditioning, or even bathroom fan! Having the windows open all weekend left our room damp from the humidity.A shower in a college dorm has more amenities as our shower didn't even have so much as a shelf to put shampoo on. If I were staying at a motel and paying $100 a night I wouldn't have much to complain about but to spend $450 (plus $50 in taxes) for a minuscule out dated room is ridiculous..I'll be staying at a B&B next time :)

Room Tip: There's no elevators so try to get a room on the first floor so you don't have to haul your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roslyn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The setting is beautiful but the view from the small window in my room was only adequate. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff was helpful but did not seem lto be doing it willingly. Supposedly all the hotels are expensive but I think you might do better staying elsewhere and going to the bar or veranda for drinks and a meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our corner room on the third floor had a wonderful ocean view from both windows. No air conditioning, but the ceiling fan and the cross breeze kept us comfortable even though the weather was hot. The hotel is old but in beautiful condition. The decor is charming. Dinner on the veranda is a must--the ocean view, the green lawn with children playing, the sunset, the quiet at night--a sense of being completely "away."

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I spent one night in this in this horrible inn. I woke up in the morning with over 30 bug bites and have continued to have issues. The inn refuses to take responsibility even though my derm confirmed the diagnosis. If that is not enough, the rooms are very worn and carpets are stained and filthy. Stay away!!

Room Tip: Stay away!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I returned to the block with my wife and children about 25 years after my last stay as a teenager with my parents. The spring house loomed large in my mind and, as we approached the property, I was amazed at how beautiful it remains and how mesmerizing the view is from the porch and lawn. Of course, everything does change. We stopped visiting all those years ago when the Mott Family sold to the current owners. The place needed to come into the modern age with private baths, updated rooms, etc. since this is block island, though, AC is not one of those things that come with renovations. The rooms were adequate, if hot the first night from a very warm and humid day. The restaurant was busy, so a fair amount of noise from below, though it did not go on too late. The staff was friendly, if not very attentive. Stairs to third floor rooms with bags and no assistance was surprising. Certainly no more greeting by name as in the old days, but without good training the summer college aged employees don't know any better. The lobby is primarily used by the restaurant now, as is the porch, so not much space to sit and read, especially if you have rain. The food served at breakfast and on the bistro menu was excellent. While it is island pricey, I didn't feel it was over the top. We had a family of five and felt the price and quality was well worth it. I guess my gripe is the nightly crowd that gathered at the popular bar and bistro that completely took over so that guests of the hotel who pay a hefty room price are shut out of those beautiful chairs overlooking the water and pushed off the porch due to the many people who come for the drinks and view. It is hard to justify the room price when there is so little for the overnight guest to enjoy in the face of the hordes of people who descend and take over this beautiful grand dame of a hotel on a lovely island that remains authentic in its friendly, non-elitist charm.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed here multiple times now, always getting the same level of quality and service. The rooms are simple, all you need, may be small to some but I would say quaint is a better description. The fresh water cooler with lemons and limes was divine after a ferry ride and hike up the hill to check-in! Have a grilled pizza out at the bar area and enjoy the views before you stroll down the hill right into the thick of town to enjoy the rest of your night! There is a breeze even on the hottest day here. The staff are young, but not inexperienced. They know how to accommodate your needs during your stay. Lastly, best coffee I've had, complimentary, before leaving in the AM. 10% off breakfast...may wanna pass and head to some other breakfast spot in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring House Hotel

Address: 52 Spring Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Block Island
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring House Hotel, built in 1852, is Block Island's largest and oldest hotel. Set atop a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean as well as the spring from which we take our name, the property provides views which cannot be beat. Being a ten minute walk from Old Harbor, the Spring House provides an oasis which can be enjoyed from our Adirondack chairs, wrap-around porch, and East overlook patio. Great pride is taken in our seed-to-table mission in both of our two on-site restaurants. Three gardens and a greenhouse provide fresh produce creating delicious dining options on both our Dining Room and Bistro menus. Simply choose your preference of formal or casual food and setting upon arrival. Indoor and outdoor seating is available for both. Between the Main Building and the Mott House (an Annex Building located 20 yards away), there are 50 hotel rooms to rent, ranging from 1-bed standards up to studios and suites. Two apartments and four houses are also available to rent on property, as well as off-property Town Homes. Block Island thrives during the summer, between Memorial Day and Labor Day. During this time, all of the above-listed dining and hotel options are available. Outside of this time frame, the Dining Room menu is closed. The Bistro menu remains open along with the Main Building Hotel from April through October. The Spring House Hotel provides a beautiful setting for weddings and special events which are frequently hosted on the weekends. In the effort to provide our nuptial couples the exclusive setting, our food and beverage outlets may be closed during these events. During the off-season (November-April), the Main Building Hotel is closed and only our Barn Suites and Houses are available for rent. Last winter was the grand opening of The Barn Restaurant, providing an intimate dining experience Wednesdays-Sundays for dinner only. The restaurant, fitting only 30-35 patrons, features an open-concept kitchen and a truly unique experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.