We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winfield's

Winfield's
1 Corn Neck Rd, Block Island, RI 02807
4014665856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 51 restaurants in Block Island
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Fabulous Restaurant on Block Island. They have a great chef and the food is amazing!
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The swordfish was large, simply prepared, and delicious. The appetizers (bruschetta and crab bisque were too rich for me. Many choices. Good waitstaff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    57
    17
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Island Surprise`”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you want a break from the typical seaside fare of fried 'fisherman's platter', crab cakes, fish & chips, and lobster rolls, Winfield's offers surprisingly well-prepared cuisine with nice presentation.

A little more upscale than the average Block Island restaurant, this eatery has a diverse menu, pleasant ambience, and wonderful service (Lisa is great). And the best part is that you can still show up in shorts and beach shoes!

We enjoyed the lobster mac & cheese appetizer (a lot... maybe too much), and the pate special was a very welcome - and unexpected - addition to an island menu. The crab bisque is a must, with subtle sherry overtones and a welcome amount of sweet crabmeat... We went rogue on two occasions, ordering non-seafood: their lamb and pork chop specials did not disapppoint. Meanwhile, their salmon and swordfish entrees are terrific.

Reservations are strongly recommended on the weekends, and they are very good about letting you know ahead of time if there will be a wait beyond your requested time. No outdoor seating, but you won't mind if you ar elooking for a special night out while on the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hubby is a fiend for mussels so if a restaurant doesn't offer them in the appetizers, it's almost a deal breaker. Winfield's mussels were some of the very best that we've ever had.

I had the filet mignon and hubby ordered the bourbon pork chop. Both meals were very good.

The staff was friendly and attentive. Probably the only downer about the restaurant was no view (I think only one table in the dining room is situated by a window).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“I can't believe I had steak on our last night on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

but it was great. Everything on the menu was great.
We started with the crab bisque with pesto. The delicate flavor of the bisque mixed with the pesto was exquisite.

After discussing it with our server, I decided to have the fillet mignon with a delicate cheese sauce. It was perfectly cooked, a remarkably tender cut of meat, and a terrific combination of flavors. My wife had the Grilled swordfish with a vinegrette sauce, and was also extremely happy with it.

Our server deserves special praise. I wish I knew her name, but the people at the table next to us were so loud that I could not catch it. Her advice on what to eat was spot on. She showed up when we wanted her without being obtrusive. Most remarkably, she managed to make you feel like she genuinely cared that we were enjoying our meal. I feel bad that I cannot mention her by name.

There is no view from this restaurant, but the quality of the food makes up for that. The place could benefit from a little sound absorption, though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Mac 'N Cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

After many years of visiting Block, we decided to delve into some of the better restaurants off the beaten path- Here we had unparalleled entrees and the best Lobster Mac N Cheese on the island. Be sure to pan ahead as reservations are a must, although you may luck out and get one of the high tops in the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winfield's also viewed

 
Block Island, RI
Block Island, RI
 
Block Island, RI

Been to Winfield's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winfield's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.