We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice fine dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winfield's

Winfield's
1 Corn Neck Rd, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-5856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Fabulous Restaurant on Block Island. They have a great chef and the food is amazing!
USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hubby is a fiend for mussels so if a restaurant doesn't offer them in the appetizers, it's almost a deal breaker. Winfield's mussels were some of the very best that we've ever had.

I had the filet mignon and hubby ordered the bourbon pork chop. Both meals were very good.

The staff was friendly and attentive. Probably the only downer about the restaurant was no view (I think only one table in the dining room is situated by a window).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    69
    20
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“I can't believe I had steak on our last night on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

but it was great. Everything on the menu was great.
We started with the crab bisque with pesto. The delicate flavor of the bisque mixed with the pesto was exquisite.

After discussing it with our server, I decided to have the fillet mignon with a delicate cheese sauce. It was perfectly cooked, a remarkably tender cut of meat, and a terrific combination of flavors. My wife had the Grilled swordfish with a vinegrette sauce, and was also extremely happy with it.

Our server deserves special praise. I wish I knew her name, but the people at the table next to us were so loud that I could not catch it. Her advice on what to eat was spot on. She showed up when we wanted her without being obtrusive. Most remarkably, she managed to make you feel like she genuinely cared that we were enjoying our meal. I feel bad that I cannot mention her by name.

There is no view from this restaurant, but the quality of the food makes up for that. The place could benefit from a little sound absorption, though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Mac 'N Cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

After many years of visiting Block, we decided to delve into some of the better restaurants off the beaten path- Here we had unparalleled entrees and the best Lobster Mac N Cheese on the island. Be sure to pan ahead as reservations are a must, although you may luck out and get one of the high tops in the bar.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The focus is on the food here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Although this charming spot has no ocean view or heavy-on-seafood menu, the food is a few notches above most on the island and the service is totally professional (Lynn was our server!). I had hanger steak with watercress, mashed potatoes & chimchurri sauce - delightful and a perfectly sized portion. Good wine. Also a treat: roasted head of garlic in olive oil to dip warm bread chunks into! You won't find the beach-going hoards lining up at the door here; it's the place for those who want a more refined dining experience and for those who will enjoy the art on the walls. Don't be put off by the small windows and darkish atmosphere; you've probably gotten too much sun today already!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best on Block Island by far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Food and service here would stand out in New York or Boston. Only complaint: tables are close and the place is noisy. But everything else is fantastic

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winfield's also viewed

 

Been to Winfield's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winfield's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.