We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must-do" Dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winfield's Restaurant

Winfield's Restaurant
Corn Neck Road, Block Island, Block Island, RI 02807
1-401-466-5856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Block Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fabulous Restaurant on Block Island. They have a great chef and the food is amazing!
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A "must-do" Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Go all out here & you will not be disappointed! The portions are delicious, refined & huge! Not your typical stuffy city fine dining scenario. Get the scallops! Amazing! My husband had a perfect chop of some sort & I had a creole style catfish. This chef likes to use a lot of sauce...if that is not your thing, you may want to request on the side. Great wine selection too, we were able to get a fruity, zesty Ridge Zinfandel. The prices are exactly where they should be due to quality & portion size. Go here as a BI treat!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    26
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Meal on BI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Went to Winfield's with another couple. We had a great evening and we all enjoyed our meals. I appreciated how they kept our water glasses full after a full day of exercising. The muscles were excellent as a shared appetizer. I liked that we were able to make a meal out of the appetizer plates. After the shared muscles we each had a salad that was fresh and tasty. Three of us got the scallop appetizer for our main meal. They were cooked perfectly and were delicious. The fourth person in our group got the lamb that he felt was a bit overcooked. We shared the apple crisp and a mascarpone cake. The apple crisp was very good, the cake was nothing to write home about. We all loved the atmosphere and the wait staff was friendly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent roast chicken and cover for Kittens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Warm and romantic, Winfiled's dining room is perfect for a special night out and the bar dining is more casual. My husband and I split the scallop appetizer which was awesome and the caprese salad which was o.k.. The greens and balsamic were good but the cheese and tomato choices were not impressive and the salad was small. The roast chicken was recommended by the waitress and it was as good as it gets! Served over polenta in a perfectly seasoned sauce, I am looking forward to ordering this dish every time I am on Block. Waitstaff, excellent. They threw in Kitten's cover for both of us which we enjoyed for about an hour.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Over rated on this site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a very dissapointing visit after the anticipation built up by reading the reviews here. We went for my birthday dinner. The restaurant was not very busy but the service was terribly slow. Drinks took forever to arrive. We thought, at least dinner should be delicious . There too we were disapointed. It was not bad, but Not special. Overall did not think it was a good experience or a good value

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect meal to end a perfect day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We chose Winfield's because of it's rating on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We spent the day on Block Island and ended it with dinner at Winfield's before catching the ferry back. My husband and I both had beef, I had the "a la mama" and he had the coffee encrusted... Both meals were wonderful and flavorful. The beef was cooked perfectly - mine a medium rare and my husband's medium, the mash potatoes were terrific and my asparagus were also great. For dessert I had the dessert special, a lemon panna cotta. The server highly recommended it. I'm glad I took her suggestion, it was just the right (and light) touch) to end the meal. We will definitely go back next time we are on the Island.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winfield's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Winfield's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winfield's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.