We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed our ferry bit happy we did” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winfield's

Winfield's
Corn Neck Rd New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
+1 401-466-5856
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Block Island
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Fabulous Restaurant on Block Island. They have a great chef and the food is amazing!
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Missed our ferry bit happy we did”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Came off the beach looking a bit scrungy and initially hesitant about eating at a fancy restaurant. But the hostess was inviting and offered a less formal option of eating in the bar area which was very lively. The swordfish was incredible. Simple, fresh, thick cut. Clearly caught that day. The beet salad had a light vinegrette and lemon dressing that was perfect for a hot summer night. My only complaint if possible to have one was that the portions were on the small side for the price and the capresse salad used cherry tomatoes versus vine ripened. Overall though an excellent meal compared with the island's other fried clam strips fare.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    25
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A GREAT dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We try to get to Winfield's each year. I don't know why I said try, it should be a priority. Truly, one of the most consistent places for dinner on the island. I have had the beef each time and both times were superb. The bread with the roated garlic and fresh parm is delicious as well. When we were there over the fourth, my husband and I had the appetizer specials ( I had the hummus) and both were great, and my beef was succulent. We went back a few weeks later with friends and we all agree that Winfield's is EXCELLENT! The service was super and Paige, our waitress was great. Don't be scared off that it is next to Kittens! It is also air conditioned and this is a plus on Block where barely anything has A/C. Overall, the bill was reasonable considering we all had drinks and dessert. :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good enough to go twice in one week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Last week we ate at Winfield’s and we were all universal in saying we had one of the best meals we’ve ever had. I’m not a Mac ‘n’ Cheese aficionado. But on a second visit in the same week, we ordered the Lobster Mac 'n' Cheese for everyone at the table to share. Truly great – and the pieces of lobster in it – wow! We all got a taste of the scallops – ordered both as an appetizer and entrée. Without a doubt, the scallops were the best thing we tasted on both evenings. I had the crab bisque – so good that my daughter ordered it on our second night. The lamb chops were excellent as was the sea bass special served on a bed of polenta. A side dish to an entrée included sweet potatoes with bits of bacon. I grew up on sweet potatoes and I thought, how good can sweet potatoes be? They can be THAT good. We'll never know how good the sashimi was - someone didn't share his appetizer!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting menu and really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I can't claim to have seen it all on block island however my guess is that this the best place to have dinner on the island. Food really good at reasonable prices in a nice atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We completely enjoyed our night at Winfield's. The food was great. The service was excellent. The food far surpasses the look of the building the restaurant is housed in. On Block Island you'd expect great food to have a great view of the sea and an outside deck to eat on. Winfield's has no oceanview and its dining room is inside. However, the food is the best we've found on the island. I completely enjoyed the quail appetizer and the fillet for the main course. My wife felt the same about the tenderloin and beet salad. The creme brulee and Winfield's coffee rounded out the evening nicely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winfield's also viewed

 

Been to Winfield's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winfield's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.