We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn, great caring service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Save Saved
You added The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
Spring Street, PO Box I, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Berwyn, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn, great caring service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the 1661 as part of a wedding planning trip. The inn is very old-fashioned Victorian style, I stayed in the Deering room, which was clean, spacious, comfortable and charming, with a beautiful ocean view. It had a couch and sitting area, with plenty of light for reading. The bed was very comfortable.

We especially enjoyed the champagne breakfast, which had lots of delicious muffins, ham, french toast, and bagels. They even offer eggs made to order.

The inn is a very short easy, walk to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    77
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
49
184
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time; our room and the view was superb as was the morning breakfast and the mimosas.The animals were an extra treat. Highly recommend 1661 and will definitely stay there on my return to Block Island

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I came to Block Island to run in the 5K Turkey Trot and to do some Christmas shopping and stayed at the 1661 Inn in the Deering room. The Inn is very clean, everyone is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. My daughter also got to go and feed the animals across the street with the owners Granddaughter which was very fun. The buffet breakfast was excellent, home cooked food. I would recommend this Inn to anyone who comes to Block Island. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Lovely inn... old style attention to service. Room neat and well lit, décor simple yet elegant. Bed was dreamy, as was breakfast . Room was toasty on arrival and lodger can set thermostat. The complementary brandy is a nice touch .
Staff truly solicitous but not smarmy.
Top flight experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second time at the Inn, and we enjoyed it just as much as our first time. The view is truly spectacular! We stayed in the Draper room, which is beautiful! The Inn is very clean, everyone is accomodating and the free breakfast was great! Can't wait until next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights this fall, in the Nicholas Ball cottage. We wound up here because the original place he wanted to stay was closed for the season. After this trip, we will never stay anyplace else! The room was huge, with a jacuzzi tub, working fieplace, and large bathroom. It was quiet and clean, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast each morning was very good - the muffins and bread were homemade and delicious! We weren't planning to come back this year, but we enjoyed it so much that we might go back for a long weekend next month. I highly recommend the 1661 Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My Husband and I booked a overnight stay at the Hotel Manisses a few months ago. We went to the 1661 inn to inquire about leaving our bags with them untill check in. It was a little after 11 and check in was later in the day. When we got there the front desk clerk said that she had another room (The Mott room) if we wanted available at the 1661 inn and she showed us the room. It was a beautiful room and we took that instead. It had a ocean view. The free breakfast for the two hotels is at the 1661 Inn so we stayed there. It was a very cute little room and was very clean. There was a lot of storage for luggage. The bathroom was a good size. The only downside was there wasnt any shelves in the shower to be able to put stuff on wile showering. We would stay again if we go back out to block island again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Address: Spring Street, PO Box I, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manisses Hotel And The 1661 Block Island
The 1661 Inn And Hotel Manisses Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.