We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses to your Saves list
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
Spring Street, PO Box I, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I came to Block Island to run in the 5K Turkey Trot and to do some Christmas shopping and stayed at the 1661 Inn in the Deering room. The Inn is very clean, everyone is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. My daughter also got to go and feed the animals across the street with the owners Granddaughter which was very fun. The buffet breakfast was excellent, home cooked food. I would recommend this Inn to anyone who comes to Block Island. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    94
    28
    16
    9
See reviews for
56
219
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ho Ho Kus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Lovely inn... old style attention to service. Room neat and well lit, décor simple yet elegant. Bed was dreamy, as was breakfast . Room was toasty on arrival and lodger can set thermostat. The complementary brandy is a nice touch .
Staff truly solicitous but not smarmy.
Top flight experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our second time at the Inn, and we enjoyed it just as much as our first time. The view is truly spectacular! We stayed in the Draper room, which is beautiful! The Inn is very clean, everyone is accomodating and the free breakfast was great! Can't wait until next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights this fall, in the Nicholas Ball cottage. We wound up here because the original place he wanted to stay was closed for the season. After this trip, we will never stay anyplace else! The room was huge, with a jacuzzi tub, working fieplace, and large bathroom. It was quiet and clean, and the king size bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast each morning was very good - the muffins and bread were homemade and delicious! We weren't planning to come back this year, but we enjoyed it so much that we might go back for a long weekend next month. I highly recommend the 1661 Inn!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My Husband and I booked a overnight stay at the Hotel Manisses a few months ago. We went to the 1661 inn to inquire about leaving our bags with them untill check in. It was a little after 11 and check in was later in the day. When we got there the front desk clerk said that she had another room (The Mott room) if we wanted available at the 1661 inn and she showed us the room. It was a beautiful room and we took that instead. It had a ocean view. The free breakfast for the two hotels is at the 1661 Inn so we stayed there. It was a very cute little room and was very clean. There was a lot of storage for luggage. The bathroom was a good size. The only downside was there wasnt any shelves in the shower to be able to put stuff on wile showering. We would stay again if we go back out to block island again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrillville, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here knowing nothing about this hotel beforehand. Sometimes we just get lucky and happen onto a great new find ...... and the Hotel Manisses (and The 1661) are a great find indeed. The accommodations were charming and comfortable enough but the real surprises were the excellent afternoon refreshments and the fantastic morning breakfast buffet. Not only was the food excellent, but it provided the guests with an opportunity to gather and socialize in a beautiful (yet informal) seaside setting. They really make you feel like a welcome guest and make for a memorable experience as well. Highly recommended ++++++++

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miller Place, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We booked a two night stay at the Hotel Manisses for a short fall respite for our first visit to Block Island. When we arrived we were told there was a cancellation and we were lucky to receive an upgrade to an ocean view room. The view was spectacular and the room was clean and quiet. The entire staff was extremely friendly, warm and helpful. Rita, the owner, made several phone calls to help us rent a moped, as many businesses were already closed for the season. She even offered to loan us her car so we could get to see the island. This wasn't necessary because we were able to secure a moped. We had a great time making several trips around the island for two days exploring the beautiful shoreline. The complimentary breakfast buffet and the afternoon "wine and nibbles" were delicious and a great way to chat with other guests to share tips about seeing the island. Our dinners in the hotel dining room were delicious and the wait staff were all friendly and professional. It was the perfect end for our perfect days. Thanks to Rita and all the hotel staff who helped to make our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Get waterview if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Address: Spring Street, PO Box I, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manisses Hotel And The 1661 Block Island
The 1661 Inn And Hotel Manisses Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.