We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't plan to ever stay anywhere else- it's a special place with special management and staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses to your Saves list
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
Spring Street, PO Box I, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Southington, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't plan to ever stay anywhere else- it's a special place with special management and staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Always clean, well appointed rooms, great breakfast and the Manisses restaurant is excellent. Rita and staff always make our stays perfect. We are looking forward to our October visit. It's such a wonderful combination of impeccable service, delivered with a warm, casual, genuinely friendly air.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    97
    28
    16
    10
See reviews for
57
225
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oneonta, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Loved this place! The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, the view is spectacular, it's walking distance to ferry, shops, and restaurants and the breakfast was to die for!!! I almost forgot the wine and cheese hour was awesome as well. This was a last minute trip for our anniversary and we plan on going back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiverton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been returning to this property every year since our children were born. We often stayed at the Dodge Cottage which could accommodate multiple children in a laid back setting. Once in awhile we would sneak away for a couples weekend and stay at the Hotel Manisses but our favorite is the 1661 Inn. All these properties are owned by the same family and over the years we have become part of their family of repeat guests. Rita Draper and her staff always make everyone feel welcome and the wonderful hospitality keeps guests coming back. The warm ocean breezes, amazing food and outstanding staff combine to make this little corner of Block Island one of our favorite places.(and we travel frequently) If you come, you must try the dessert and flaming coffee served in the lobby of the Hotel Manisses nightly from 7-10PM.

Room Tip: Dodge Cottage Kathleen Sullivan room with children. Any rooms in Manisses or 1661 Inn for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We came here for the champagne brunch. Food was excellent and well-priced (around $18 pp for all we could eat). Excellent view overlooking the water and town. We would definitely go again on our next trip to Block Island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Every year we return to the 1661 Inn. It is our decompression trip. We are never disappointed with our stay at this place. All of the staff are helpful. We plan to continue visiting there for many more years.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

PROS:

- Reasonable price, considering other hotels on the island.
- Outstanding complimentary wine and cheese hour at the neighboring hotel every afternoon.
- Some rooms come with a private porch. Our- the Pocahontas room- came with a grand view from our relaxing porch. We loved it!
- Kind staff allows you to keep your bags in the lobby, even after check-out
- Free shuttle provides transport to the Montauk Ferry at New Harbor
- Complimentary flaming coffee!
- While some may complain that the decor in the rooms and lobby are outdated and worn looking, they fail to realize that they are staying in a Victorian-era hotel. The establishment has worked hard to preserve the style and grace of that period. Old portraits and warm lighting in the halls made us feel like I was living in the late 1800s.
- Complimentary breakfast
- Wonderful location, with Old Harbor Main Street and beach just steps from the hotel
- No air-conditioning. But even in hot August, our second-floor room had enough fans (three) to keep us cool. Unless you're an air-conditioning junkie, you should be fine.

CONS:

- Our bathroom had a bit of mold on the walls, and the sink was clogged with a slow drain. Granted, I'm sure the staff would have remedied the situation had we asked.
- No air-conditioning, but that didn't bother us at all. The room was never hot. This is only a con for folks who can't live without AC, even on cool summer nights.

SUMMARY: This is a very close 5/5 stars. If you like Victorian themes and historic locations, this is the place for you. Don't expect high-profile, ultra-chic, modern lodging, because this is a straight-up Victorian hotel. And it really is beautiful. The dark-wood molding, warm lighting and patterned carpeting really did make us feel as if we had stepped back into the 1870s. We loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a private porch. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

2nd year in a row to BI and now "we are set"...why? because my wife and I learned enough from our first trip to seek out the most serene place on the island - 1661...and so we did. The staff was excellent, which is a true reflection of Rita; we can't say enough how pleasant and accommodating everyone was. Room was always cleaned well; nice job to the cleaning staff. And for those who know BI, you can't beat a room with a ceiling fan and two standing fans to keep you comfortable...it's BI, and it's the best you'll find with a nice breeze off the water. Breakfast was terrific, nibble hour was a nice touch, front porch/back patio lounging was a treat, shuttle to/from the ferry says it all. Perfect place...see you next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Address: Spring Street, PO Box I, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manisses Hotel And The 1661 Block Island
The 1661 Inn And Hotel Manisses Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.