We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back because everything and everyone couldn't be more perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Save Saved
You added The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses
Spring Street, PO Box I, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Southington, CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We keep coming back because everything and everyone couldn't be more perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

The weather was perfect, great ocean view, and Rita and her family and staff always make us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    210
    81
    24
    13
    7
See reviews for
50
190
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Loved it at the 1661 Inn. This was our second time staying here. Great food, service, sunrise right from your porch and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at the room called "Ball" in the Guest House; small but so comfortable and tastefully appointed. The large picture windows on two sides, and a glass door, gives one an unobstructed view of the lush green shore with its coves and the ocean directly behind it-- even from your bed. You see and hear the BI Ferries come and go; other than that no noise but for the birds. A cute couple of ducks came to visit us in the morning. There's a roofed patio with garden furniture, and also nice heavy lounge chairs (unfortunately wet). Even though it rained most of the day, we had a wonderful time.
Breakfast at the 1661 House was plentiful and excellent (fresh fruit, French Toast, sausage, variety of breads & cereal, eggs/ omelets made to order). Appreciated the free wine and "nibbles" in the afternoon! Staff was friendly & helpful. Thanks!!

Room Tip: Front rooms in the Main House and Guest House have the most stunning view of coastline (coves, lush...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Rooms clean,beds cozy,food delicious and staff warm and welcoming. Stayed at the Manisses and ate at the 1661 best of both worlds. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

It was nice to return to Block Island after more than 15 years. The 1661 was an excellent choice. Not in the hustle and bustle of the ferry area, only a short walk from away. The staff was very attentive, took care of any questions or needs we had. Breakfast each morning was good, many choices, the eggs, pancakes and french toast were all fresh and really tasty. Our room with a deck view of the Ocean and sunrise was FABULOUS! The baths could use some updating, but that is minor compared to the overall excellence! The exotic animal farm on the property was a pleasant surprise! GO stay there you will not be disappointed!
Thanks Rita and staff!

Room Tip: Try to get the Staples suite. It has a great ocean view and the sunrises right at the foot of your b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The room, view, and the staff could not have been nicer. I've already recommended it to everyone I've told about our visit to Block Island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

It was my first visit to Block Island and the owners and staff at the 1661 Inn made it wonderful. We had originally been booked into a part of the inn that was not on the main property but a 5-10 minute walk away. We were a little disappointed after checking in and saw that we were not on the main 1661 Inn property, let me say that the room we originally booked was very nice, we were just assuming when we booked online that we were going to be on the main property itself. We went back to the inn and asked the owner if it would be possible to be on the main property she checked and said they were booked on the main property but there was a room in the neighboring cottage that was open but she wasn't sure if it was ready since they were just re-opening for season, she checked again and showed us a room that was so nice, the Nicholas in the Nicholas Ball Cottage. It was a great upgrade. A much larger room with a wood burning fireplace, large bathroom and a huge jacuzzi tub! Perfect! The owners son drove us to the other house and back so we could get our bags. On the drive we asked about places to eat and things to see. He was friendly and helpful. He was spot on with his recommendations. Our meals at the surrounding restaurants were very good and his suggestions for things to see were great. Definitely take time to visit the family farm that is across the street too. Breakfast the next morning was awesome! A nice selection of, eggs to order, pancakes, ham, a nice selection of breads and pastries, cold and hot cereal, variety of juices and coffee and tea and mimosas. Overall a great stay, the owner and staff were accommodating and friendly, the room clean and comfortable, and the food was excellent. We will definitely be back and we are telling all of our friends to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are at the main property of the 1661 Inn which overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses

Address: Spring Street, PO Box I, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manisses Hotel And The 1661 Block Island
The 1661 Inn And Hotel Manisses Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 1661 Inn & Hotel Manisses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.