We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family gathering!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Bellevue House
Save Saved
You added Bellevue House to your Saves list
356 High Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Yorktown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a family gathering!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

In August 2011, we celebrated my mom's 70th birthday in Block Island. We stayed at the Windrose House and another of their rentals on site. The accommodations were great, convenient, and perfect for a family gathering. I would strongly recommend this place and their other rentals and will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    13
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
12
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chappaqua new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just spent 3 nights at the Bellevue House with my wife and three kids. The house is exactly as advertised - old/dated but well kept, and our floor easily slept all of us (in three rooms and common kitchen, two private bathrooms). Truly like the fact that we didn't need to split up the family as we usually did across separate hotel rooms.

Location was an easy/safe walk into town, with General Store across the street that we made good use of. Office staff extremely helpful/friendly. Stands to lock-up bikes at night.

Only downside is that we were there at the end of the season, and the "seasonal help" on the island apparently live dorm style across the street. Got very noisy one night till very late, but shouldn't be an issue on a normal night.

TERRIFIC value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIAccommodations, Owner at Bellevue House, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Cariona E. Corcoran

Owner/ Property Manager
Block Island Accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Lets face it if you have ever stay on Block island you would know that it is not like the ritz , However the Bellevue House for the money is great , I stay in all most every place on Block Island over the years , There location and rooms are Great I will most likely say There again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

We rented rooms in both the windrose and Bellevue homes which are right next to each other. The windrose is way nicer and more up to date. Overall I would def stay here again. Location is great.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just spent a wonderful week with the family and we hope to return next summer. The place was very clean and the view from every window was exceptional! We had ocean views and island views not to mention the fabulous sunrise. The staff was extremely accomodating and friendly. It is set on a hilltop and beautiful breezes kept us comfortable so no need for air conditioning. We were on the 3rd floor which is why we were afforded the cross breeze and it comes equipped with fans in each room. The only downside was having to do the stairs but it was a wonderful place. Recently redone! It is a short walk to town so no need to drive unless you want to go to a beach on the other side of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The staff is very unaccommodating and the building is run down. The photos are not a true representation of this property. There are so many nicer B&Bs on Block Island, this should only be last resort. The floors are sticky, the furniture smells. The management there should put more effort into the property if they want people to book here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I've been visiting BI for years, however this was my first time staying at the Bellevue. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bedroom with a queen bed - The room was spacious and the breeze and ceiling fan kept us cool. We heard the management made a bunch of renovations this year, but since it was our first time here we weren't aware - all we saw was a beautiful and well kept b&b.
The room had wonderful ocean views and the porch was great to sit out and chat at night and have breakfast in the morning. We were served delicious fruit, bagels, pound cake, coffee etc. every morning of our stay. One night we used one of the grills on the property and enjoyed a nice BBQ in the back yard of the Bellevue.
The inn's location was one of my favorite things; we were able to walk right into the heart of town whenever we wanted but were able to get away from the noise at night when we went to bed by just walking a few minutes each way. The guests we met were friendly and the staff treated us like family. They were very welcoming and made sure we knew they were available if we needed anything at any time - although nothing was needed it was comforting to keep this in mind.
Overall, my boyfriend and I were beyond pleased with our stay at the Bellevue House and have already booked another vacation there later this summer. I would strongly recommend this place to friends & family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Address: 356 High Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bellevue House Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;