We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved It and Planning to Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Block Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bellevue House
356 High Street, Block Island, RI 02807   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Block Island B&B and Inns
Cranston, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We Loved It and Planning to Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just spent a wonderful week with the family and we hope to return next summer. The place was very clean and the view from every window was exceptional! We had ocean views and island views not to mention the fabulous sunrise. The staff was extremely accomodating and friendly. It is set on a hilltop and beautiful breezes kept us comfortable so no need for air conditioning. We were on the 3rd floor which is why we were afforded the cross breeze and it comes equipped with fans in each room. The only downside was having to do the stairs but it was a wonderful place. Recently redone! It is a short walk to town so no need to drive unless you want to go to a beach on the other side of town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

The staff is very unaccommodating and the building is run down. The photos are not a true representation of this property. There are so many nicer B&Bs on Block Island, this should only be last resort. The floors are sticky, the furniture smells. The management there should put more effort into the property if they want people to book here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I've been visiting BI for years, however this was my first time staying at the Bellevue. My boyfriend and I stayed in a bedroom with a queen bed - The room was spacious and the breeze and ceiling fan kept us cool. We heard the management made a bunch of renovations this year, but since it was our first time here we weren't aware - all we saw was a beautiful and well kept b&b.
The room had wonderful ocean views and the porch was great to sit out and chat at night and have breakfast in the morning. We were served delicious fruit, bagels, pound cake, coffee etc. every morning of our stay. One night we used one of the grills on the property and enjoyed a nice BBQ in the back yard of the Bellevue.
The inn's location was one of my favorite things; we were able to walk right into the heart of town whenever we wanted but were able to get away from the noise at night when we went to bed by just walking a few minutes each way. The guests we met were friendly and the staff treated us like family. They were very welcoming and made sure we knew they were available if we needed anything at any time - although nothing was needed it was comforting to keep this in mind.
Overall, my boyfriend and I were beyond pleased with our stay at the Bellevue House and have already booked another vacation there later this summer. I would strongly recommend this place to friends & family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We (2 adults+one boy) go to Block Island every year in July. We stayed at the Bellevue house in 2010 and 2011. The location can't be beat. On a relatively quiet street but less than a 5 minute walk to the main streets with all the action.

In 2010 we had a very nice experience staying in the "Third Floor Apartment". It was clean and spacious and comfortable (2 bedrooms, sitting area with TV and daybeds and kitchen). Being on the third floor, it was also fairly quiet. Bathroom was small but serviceable although the shower is TINY. We are not big people by any means and only my pre-teen son could comfortably turn around in that shower! The management was completely absent during our entire stay, which was ok because we didn't have any issues. I think management may be new in 2011.

The past month in 2011 we stayed in the "Middle Studio". To their credit, management was present and visible throughout our stay this year, but we were very disappointed in the room given the price. The web pictures looked ok, but this room is definitely "old and tired". Icky even. Every surface (even the floor portion which was wood) was sticky, like it hadn't been cleaned well, The couch was mangy (we immediately covered it with towels before sitting on it or touching it), the carpet was just...gross. The beds need new mattresses badly (both my husband and I returned home with back pain from sleeping in the sagging double bed), the bathroom, though small, was clean enough but showed signs of mold in corners. The window looks out to the front porch so it was very LOUD late at night with everyone coming and going and folks partying on the porch. To add insult to injury, during our final day the ceiling leaked badly onto the kitchenette table--where we were keeping all our electronics, my purse, hats, glasses, etc.-- when someone used the shower upstairs!! I was grossed out thinking it was a toilet leaking at first but confirmed it was the upstairs shower. Management's answer? They sent someone to clean and mop up but just said: "well, it's an old house, these things happen". They should warn people not to put anything valuable underneath this ceiling area as the second floor shower gets used by 2 rooms!

Bottom line, I like the location of the Bellevue House but would not rent another room here or in any of the co-owned properties without inspecting it IN PERSON first. Some rooms are nice and may even be updated as some reviewers have said, but some need to be gutted!

Room Tip: inspect the room in person or ask lots of questions before choosing a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Bellevue House has an excellent location that is close to town if you do not have a vehicle. Easy walk to the beach, shopping, restaurants. It is spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. We even stayed in a room that shared a bath with another room( not usually my cup of tea) and the bathroom was squeaky clean. The grounds are lovely(gorgeous hydrangeas everywhere!). Our room on the second floor in the front of the house had a great breeze and a distant view of the ocean. The continental breakfast was very good. Large fresh bagels, tons of FRESH fruit salad and baked goods, juice, cereal, milk, and coffee.Block Island is very expensive during the summer and I felt the rates were quite reasonable for the quality of the property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestnut Ridge, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our 1st. time coming to Block island and we had no idea what to expect. We were on a budget and so chose one of the rooms with a shared bath. The room was smallish but clean, quiet, and had 2 large windows allowing for a perfect view of the sunrise over the ocean. Although there was no airconditioning in our room, we found the room temp perfect for deep sleeping at night and the room fan made it quite comfortable during the hottest part of the day. Sharing the bath was not a problem and it was clean and well equiped. There's an outside shower/toilet room which was handy coming off the beach. The breakfast simple yet nourishing with plenty of fresh melons, pineapple, strawberrys etc., along with the usual contenental offerings. Helpful, friendly staff insured our experience was a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: If you stay during the week, there's lots of specials that you can get and up grade nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Was here July 4th weekend and had a bad experience with this place.
--EXTREMELY LOUD: the noise insulation between the rooms was terrible; this goes for both the bellevue and sheffield house, both of which we stayed in; you can hear every door opening and closing in the place; we could feel the people in the room next to us walking around and talking thru the wall
--UNCOMFORTABLE BEDS. we slept pretty poorly on these trampolines.
--WORN OUT ROOMS, STRANGE SMELLING BATHROOMS: the rooms were old and often grungy; the rooms were small and the bathrooms smelled strange
--NO AC IN MANY ROOMS: some of the rooms had AC, many didn't
--STAFF NEGLECTED TO MENTION THAT A ROOM WHICH SLEPT 4 DID SO ALL IN THE SAME ROOM: unpleasant surprise when we got there; they did make some effort to accomodate us by letting us move to a different room for a night where there was a cancellation, but then tried to get us to pay $600 for the only spare room available on the last night

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellevue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue House

Address: 356 High Street, Block Island, RI 02807
Location: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Block Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bellevue House Hotel Block Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bellevue House to your Saves list