We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astounding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Bluffs

Mohegan Bluffs
Mohegan Trail, Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-5009
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two-hundred-foot cliffs with great views of the Atlantic.
Plainfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Astounding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Be prepared to walk back up the stairs that lead down to the beach. Also read about the history of the Indians and the Bluffs...incredible.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    32
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Bluffs were unbelieveable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's hard to imagine that there are cliffs like that in Rhode Island. They look like something you'd expect to see on the coast of California.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best spot on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Nothing beats in on the East COAST for spectacular scenery. A visit to the island would not be complete without seeing this. A reasonable walk from the ferry of maybe 45 minutes each way.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Magical - Unreal - Serene - A MUST SEE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wow, where to begin. Mohegan Bluffs is a strip of secluded beach with cliff on one side and the ocean on the other. The picturesque spot is magical and breathtaking, words cannot describe it properly. You MUST see this place if you visit block island! I recommend taking a blanket and either picnic or read a good book. It doesn't get much better than this place for relaxing and enjoying the beauty of things. A long winding staircase will take you most of the way down to the beach, but to go the full way down you must maneuver over some rocks (I wouldn't call it difficult but I wouldn't say it is easy either - I recommend sneakers to help!) Otherwise you can stop at the overlook when the stairs stop. My mother and I biked to Mohegan Bluffs from Old Harbor but you can drive, take a moped, or even walk (but the latter would take some time). If you decide to bike, you should know that you're going to have to bike uphill a lot. I am in decent physical shape and my legs got a bit tired nonetheless. My mother on the other hand had to walk some of the hills. The distance and effort are doable though and well worth it. I would also go so far as to say that this is the most difficult part of the island to bike. If you make it to mohegan bluffs from the direction of old harbor, the rest of the island will be less strenuous.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Felt like a private peach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice sandy beach to have a picnic and take a dip. A place you need to go. We went into the ocean at the end of September and the water was still warm. The waves were huge that day, we felt like kids.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mohegan Bluffs also viewed

 

Been to Mohegan Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.