We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath Taking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Bluffs

Mohegan Bluffs
Mohegan Trail, Block Island, RI 02807
401-466-5009
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Attractions in Block Island
Type: Hiking Trails, Geologic Formations, Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Two-hundred-foot cliffs with great views of the Atlantic.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Breath Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Make sure you do not miss this natural wonder when you visit Block Island. The view is absolutely awe inspiring!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    24
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wonderful view, but be prepared for LOTS of stairs. It gets crowded in the nice summer weather, but it's worth it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Go Down the Stairs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Beautiful view from the stairs, but go down and walk the beach. You have a better perspective of just how awesome these cliffs are. Also you may find interesting things left from the tide. There is always the clay and you see interesting rock art created by visitors. Why not make your own rock treasure behind? I did.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“DON'T MISS THIS ATTRACTION!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a view!!! Lots of steps but worth the trip down to the beach! Plus at the bottom there is an "art gallery" with stone people. It is an amazing view and worth the walk down and back!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Worth the Effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were going to rent bikes and ride to Mohegan Bluffs but after talking with our waitress the night before, who warned us that it was a hilly ride, we decided to walk. It's probably about 1 1/2 miles from town and a pleasant walk, even with a few good hills. The Southeast Lighthouse on the way. The stairs to the beach are well thought out with plenty of landings so you can make the climb without overtaxing yourself. The rock scramble at the bottom looks worse than it is and at the bottom there is a charming array of Zen rock cairns that visitors have left behind. We were fortunate that the weather was terrific and the seas were very calm. As it was after Labor Day, there were only a handful of other people there. The cliffs are impressive. I'm glad we took the time and effort to see this beautiful area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mohegan Bluffs also viewed

 

Been to Mohegan Bluffs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Bluffs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;