We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend the Yorktowne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Yorktowne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Yorktowne Hotel to your Saves list
The Yorktowne Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   48 E. Market St., York, PA 17401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 10%
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in York
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommend the Yorktowne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2006

I stayed at the Yorktowne for four nights and was so pleased. I was visiting friends who were with a large group staying there also. The service at the hotel is really the best I've seen in a long, long time of frequent travelling. Every staff member I came into contact with during my stay was friendly, efficient, and did their absolute best to be helpful to all of us. The hotel itself is old but very nice. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. The only real complaint I have, and it's a small one, is that the rooms are not soundproof in the least and I could hear every conversation of the individual who was in the adjoining room to mine. This could be because there was a door there to make the suites adjoining if needed but it truly was like we were in the same room as far as the noise goes. Other than that, it was a wonderful stay and the restaurant/cafe downstairs had delicious food and excellent service. Also, room service food was the best I've had in years!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    69
    38
    27
    9
See reviews for
38
52
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2005

The photos expedia tell the truth: it's a nice, clean (not a given among historical hotels) and classy historical hotels. The lobby is not something you would expect from a small regional town. The rooms are not as astonishing but good nevertheless. Parking could be a problem during weekdays, but should be very easy on weekends.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2005

My wife and I had a lovely weekend stay at the Yorktowne Hotel, located in downtown York, PA. We had a 2 room suite that was spacious and glorious. Olde style furniture with 1st class accomodations and staff. Great dining at the hotel. Quiet and clean. We will return there instead of the chain hotels/motels locally. We will reccomend this hotel to our friends and business associates. More people need to know about this gem in downtown York, PA.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2005

I was travelling with a group of ten people and after missing a flight from Chicago to Washington, found ourselves arriving at the Yorktowne at 2.30am. Not only did they need to check in 10 people but many of us wanted to have laundry done and they patiently waited for us to all deal with our bits and pieces. We attended a Wine Makers dinner one evening which was a great way to try Californian wines with the beautiful food. The chef was very interested to see 10 Australians and came to our table to ask how we enjoyed the food and wine.
A very pleasant stay and so much nicer than the large impersonal chain hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2004

Recently I planned a meeting at the hotel in November 2004. I wasn't sure what to expect since I had never been to the hotel prior. My experience was incredible. From the first contact with my sales rep., Wendy I knew that my business was important to them. I was actually called back on several occassions to review my meeting arrangements. My guests loved the hotel and everyone went out of their way to ensure my meeting was a success. I was even called back after my meeting to see if everything was up to my expectations. Would I bring my business back to the hotel, absolutely. Would I recommend the hotel and my sales rep. Wendy to other members in my office, absolutely. Thanks for making me look good and making my meeting so easy. First class hotel in a day and age when it seems customer service was melting away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2004

My husband and I have stayed at the Yorktowne on several occasions and just love the Commonwealth Room as well as the Off Center Grill. Just a few weeks ago we sent my in-laws on a romantic overnight stay at the Yorktowne. The manager and staff were so accomodating and on top of every detail. The manager personally let me in the room before my inlaws checked in to put some wine, candles, and other things in the room to add to the romance. He made sure every detail was exactly how I wanted it before I left. When my inlaws arrived, they said it was like they were royalty. Everyone knew who they were already and that they were to be treated well. My mother-in-law said it was like they didn't even have to speak. Every need they had was anticipated and promptly carried through. They had dinner at the Commonwealth Room, and again, the service was excellent. The waiter even hand delivered their birthday gifts to them at their table and took a few pictures of them together for me. I had prearranged alot of small details and the staff was wonderful in making sure everything was taken care of. The hotel itself is breathtaking and the rooms are very nice, but it's the customer service at the Yorktowne that sets it apart from any other hotel. I highly recommend the Yorktowne, they are there for each guest, not for the money they receive in your staying there!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2004

I stayed here for one night on business. The lobby was beautiful and set the tone for the visit. My room was very large and well appointed - a bottle of spring water in the room each day was a nice touch. The building is a little frayed, but all in all it made a very pleasent chage from the usual Hiltons and Marriotts that I tend to end up in!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yorktowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yorktowne Hotel

Address: 48 E. Market St., York, PA 17401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Yorktowne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yorktowne Hotel was built in 1925 and stands eleven stories tall in the heart of downtown York's historic neighborhood. The hotel is full-service and features 121 luxury guest rooms, York's only AAA 4-Diamond restaurant, casual & outdoor cafes (seasonal), and event & meeting facilities. The Yorktowne Hotel is a proud member of the National Trust for Historic Preservation's Historic Hotel of America. The Yorktowne Hotel is convenient to York's historic buildings, farmers markets, Sovereign Bank Stadium, entertainment venues and financial and business districts. We are only steps away from local historic attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Yorktowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yorktowne Hotel York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yorktowne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.