We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been going for years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Round The Clock Diner & Coffee

Round The Clock Diner & Coffee
222 Arsenal Rd, York, PA 17402
+1 717-848-5344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 360 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We have been voted York's #1 Restaurant, many times, for many years. We home make all of our soups, chop our own fresh salads, prepare the quickest/freshest breakfasts, sandwiches, dinners and late night meals in town.
Dover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Been going for years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great place to go for breakfast as prices are average and the portions are good , we have kept coming here for breakfast since we stopped in once on vacation before moving to the area and love it..
Dinner is just as good ,but i think of it as a place to come to for good food when i can not be bothered to cook at home....
But the food is always good ,staff are always friendly and the prices are average for a diner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    80
    31
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Rusty under the rim”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have eaten at Round the Clock Diner many times over the years. The last time I was there with my mother, we opened the grated cheese container and discovered rust under the entire top. Yuck! Since then we have not been back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stopped in with a business associate for breakfast... great service, healthy portions, nice selection... albeit the decor is a little dated... but that just adds to the "diner" experience in my view... shows that the place is busy and popular. Eggs over easy cooked perfectly... excellent home fries with onions... huge portion of bacon. Can't speak to non-breakfast items, but I definitely would visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Down-Home cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This diner is very deceptive from the road; it is huge inside. It seems to be very popular, too, although I’m not sure why. I ordered the special, “chicken pot pie.” It was really chicken and dumplings: lots of dumplings and very little chicken. The dish of ice cream I ordered was full of ice crystals. I would have returned it, but by that time, my waitress had disappeared. She was obviously overworked.

Scooper47’s top tips: 1. I think this might be a good place for breakfast.
2. Route 30 (Arsenal Rd.) is a nightmare. No left turns except at traffic lights. The problem is, there are no U-turns allowed at traffic lights. Believe it or not, you have to take a RIGHT turn, go down the street and turn around in a parking lot. Great planning, York!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but Options are limited because of prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We decided to check out Round the Clock Diner after taking in an Imax 3-D movie one evening. It was around 9:30pm, which certainly fits in the "round the clock" portion of this experience.

I ordered a chicken sandwich with fries (8.50) and my wife also order a sandwich, though I can't remember what it was. I felt the menu was somewhat limited because there weren't a lot of "diner prices." In one section, you had moderately priced sandwiches and then in another section, you could order a $18 steak. Not really the kind of diner you are expecting when you walk in.

The people were relatively friendly, but don't go in expecting a true diner experience. It definitely hits more of the restaurant feel these days and the menu isn't going to blow you away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Round The Clock Diner & Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Round The Clock Diner & Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round The Clock Diner & Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.