We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service and Savory Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham York

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham York
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   105 State Street, Arsenal Rd. and N. George St, York, PA 17401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in York
Hudson, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Superior Service and Savory Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

There are so many hotels like this in York and across the land. How to stand out? These guys earned the loyalty of one of my travel companions and I wanted to find out why. What I discovered first was service. My phone did not work for my wake up call so the overnight auditor personally came to my room and knocked the next morning (Thank you). The other part of my stay clearly above average was breakfast. It was billed as continental but I was pleasantly surprised to find eggs, bacon and potatoes too. Started my day on a positive note along with the final surprise - - complimentary Wall St. Journal (Thanks for spoiling me). Finally, I think they're smart. The hotel is close to the interstate (83) but it is just off, not on, the state road. Still easy to find but maybe they paid a little less for the land? I call that smart. Almost forgot one - - room was squeaky clean. For balance - - pillow a little thick so I had a little soreness in my neck in the morning. Hey, no one's perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WingateYork, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham York, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us from the cleanliness of our hotel to the wonderful service my co-workers offer.

The Wingate Hotel's staff strives to provide the BEST for our guests when they stay with us and I am happy to see this was followed through and we will continue this service.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to York PA!

Warmly
Cindi Wycheck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    130
    30
    8
    9
See reviews for
134
69
14
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were house hunting and wanted to stay down in York for the weekend. We found Wingate to be extremely reasonably priced and located right off 30 and 83 also near a lot of restaurants and stores. There was a pool and we were very disappointed that we didn't bring out swimwear. Also enjoyed the continental breakfast in the morning. The room was extremely cozy and everything we needed! I'd recommend it to family and friends who come to visit us in the future! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

An excellent stay as usual. Although the top floor was under a deep cleaning, I had requested it and was graciously accommodated. A small communication error was corrected quickly. The staff went above their duty to make us comfortable. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was coming into York for a family wedding so this hotel was the perfect location. Overall my experience was excellent. Everything was right about my reservation, room, and check in/out . I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the York area if they are looking for a clean, extremely comfortable room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham York

Address: 105 State Street, Arsenal Rd. and N. George St, York, PA 17401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham York 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wingate by Wyndham Hotel is conveniently located to Rt 30, Rt 83, and numerous of restaurants and shopping areas.We offer ALL INCLUSIVE rates that include your Hot Buffet Breakfast, 24 Hour Coffee / Tea, USA Today Newspaper / Wall Street Journal, WiFi, Business Center, Fitness Center, Indoor Heated Swimming Pool / Whirlpool, In-Room Microwave / Refrigerator and Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Manager's Reception Monday - Wednesday nights, AND Wyndham Reward Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham York Hotel York
Wyndham York
York Wyndham
Wingate York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.