We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More upscale than one might think.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Tavern

Roosevelt Tavern
50 N Penn St, York, PA 17401
+1 717-854-7725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 398 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More upscale than one might think.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

(*Note: Have the Cream of Crab Soup, you will not regret it. )My fiancé and I have recently relocated to the area, and went out to dinner with my parents while they visited us for the first time. We quick found this place on TripAdvisor, seemed to have decent ratings. Do not be fooled by the name "Tavern", this place is VERY classy. Their regular dinner menu looked great (Entrees starting at $20) but we were more in the mood for a quick pub bite so we opted for the pub menu (half the price of regular dinner menu). They have an extensive wine and cocktail list, I myself imbibed with a craft brew. Dinner rolls were hot and delicious, and please do yourself a favor and have the Cream of Crab soup, which they are famous for. My fiancé had BBQ wings, standard but fresh, I opted for an open face roast beef sandwich ( a dry roast beef, not one dripping with some vague gravy) and they were both spectacular. A nice place for either upscale dining or a relaxed pub bite. Our server was extraordinarily attentive. Overall great impression, looking forward to going back for a special occasion for their more upscale menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron k, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback & review. I am glad you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    20
    5
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Husband and I took our three boys out for a special evening. Service was amazing! Menu was wonderful, great choices for all ages. Kids had a real great time which makes it even better for us. The music just added the right touch to a nice out.
Will be back many more times.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron k, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback & review. I am glad you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My sister and I went for lunch there and had a great time. We check out restaurants for our Sister outings. The atmosphere was very nice, the welcome was warm and the service was great. The food was really good. I will definitely be going back often. Can't wait to go for dinner and check out there dinner menu!! I want to check out one of their deserts too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron k, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback & review. I am glad you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We went to the Roosevelt for a late lunch and this was our first visit to the restaurant. It will certainly not be our last. The ambiance was attractive, the service was excellent, the food was tasty, and the menu was varied. We will certainly go back to enjoy this restaurant again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As Great as I remember”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I lived in York during high school and my parents would take me here for "Special Dinners". I am back in York again and had the chance to have a business dinner with about 15 persons. The staff was awesome, worked with our team on a great limited menu and my filet with seasonal root vegetables and mashed potatoes was fabulous. I classic dinner cooked to perfection. I am going to come back for date night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Roosevelt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.