We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed - so many better places in York” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Tavern

Roosevelt Tavern
50 N Penn St, York, PA 17401
+1 717-854-7725
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 389 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
York, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed - so many better places in York”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Based upon friends having a nice lunch at The Roosevelt Tavern a few weeks previous, six of us made dinner reservations for the Valentine's Dinner on Saturday, Feb 12, 2012. There was a limited menu for the night at $39 per person. Everyone ordered the filet mignon and three of us added a lobster tail for another $11.

The filets were marginal at best (I've enjoyed better sirloins at chain restaurants), not warm, and the lobster tail was also cold and very tough (overdone). Vegetables were undercooked and strange. Service was just okay and we commented to our server who said she would tell the owner and chef. No one came to our table and we never saw the owner again after the initial seating by him. We had been to this restaurant previous to recent change of ownership and had always experienced nice meals.

We did not want to cause a scene, so we simply paid (overpaid!) and left. I sent an email to the owner , who responded and was apologetic. He said he would be in touch by phone to me soon - that was almost two weeks ago.

My wife and I will not be returning to The Roosevelt Tavern and I doubt the other two couples will either.

All of us are or were were small business owners and we know what customer service and quality should be. I gave the owner an opportunity to try to repair the damage done by our expensive and less than satisfying experience. He failed to follow up. Shame on him!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    20
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, PA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, but a bit dated.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We enjoyed the food and the menu selections. The atmos phere was good, but a bit dated.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Under new management, lunch was good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

I was a part of a party of 8 for lunch. The day we were there it was not packed but busy. Service was good, food was hot, wait staff checked back frequently enough to make sure all was well but not to the point of distraction. The food as the Roosevelt has in my opinion been good , somethings a tad overpriced but always good. The atmosphere is nice. There has been a restaurant at this location for more than 40 years. Parking is convenient, I would go back again

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron k, Owner at Roosevelt Tavern, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback we are glad you had a nice experience and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon. Thank you, RT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York PA
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A York Landmark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Good service, but average food except for the crab bisque. That is excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Stay away since the ownership changser”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 via mobile

6 of us dined here with a reservation Saturday. After 20 minutes we inquired about a server. No one had come with menus or to take drink orders. Portions were small for the price and a side salad was not an option. Entrées were limited in choices and sides were as stated in menu. Filet was very small. Left hungry and I'm not a big eater. Won't return.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosevelt Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Roosevelt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roosevelt Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.