We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isaac's Restaurant & Deli

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Isaac's Restaurant & Deli
2960 Whiteford Rd, York, PA 17402
(717) 751-0515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 398 Restaurants in York
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Awesome grilled sandwiches named after birds, delicious made-from-scratch soups, fresh green salads and an award-winning Kid's Menu has made Isaac's a South Central PA favorite for over 30 years. 18 Locations company-wide with 3 in York County.
York PA
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Love the Whooping Crane on a pretzel bun. Always a good place when you are in a hurry

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    13
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The sandwiches, salads and soup are always good. They have a great selection and choice, service has always met my expectations

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbottstown, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I have always loved the sandwiches at Isaac's. My favorite is the penguin club and the sliders are good too. They have a gluten free flatbread for those who can't have bread/gluten. They have a great selection of sandwiches (hot and cold), breads (not just pretzel bread, don't know what that person's issue is), cheeses etc.. If you are in South Central PA there is probably an Isaac's somewhere nearby and you should definitely stop in to one.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My family loves the sandwiches but I went elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

If you like oddly named sandwiches on pretzel bread, Isaac's is for you. It's not a deli and it really isn't a restaurant - more like a quick food where you order at the counter, rather than fast food place. If you don't each bread, forget it! The sandwiches are the main theme with some soups and some desserts, which I found too sweet to eat. Not my speed at all. But, my brother-in-law loves the pretzel bread and my mother likes the ham and cheese.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite soup and sandwich spot in York.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Deli of Italy is a close second. If it weren't for Isaac's soups and the Fudgie Wudgie, Deli of Italy would be the winner because their bread is the best in York and all the rest of the fixings measure up.

But Isaac's menu is way deeper, with great soup and salad selections and fantastic desserts as well. And it's on the south side, near our Leaders Heights home. We stop by Deli of Italy when we're out at Five Below/Best Buy etc. but that's not all that often. Isaac's is every couple of weeks or so.

There's the Festive Board nearby at Queensgate, but Isaac's has them well beaten. Subway...ditto, and Quizno's on South Queen is no more. I liked Quizno's sandwiches, but their service model wasn't as nice as Isaac's nor is their menu as complete. Quizno's is great for takeout deli sandwiches though.

For the full deli and restaurant experience, Isaac's is a winner. Go into the soup menu as well as sandwiches, and you'll have a great deli restaurant experience there.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac's Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Isaac's Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isaac's Restaurant & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.