We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but interesting side trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of York Barbell

York Barbell
3300 Board Rd, York, PA 17406
+1 800-358-9675
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 10 Attractions in York
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Weightlifting Hall of Fame contains a diverse history of the strength sports, their evolution from mythology to early Olympic Games and from the 19th and 20th century amateur and professional strongmen to the current specialized sport of Olympic weightlifting, powerlifting and bodybuilding. The Weightlifting Hall of Fame encompasses approximately 8,000 square feet of the space and is housed in the first floor of the York Barbell administrative building, adjacent to York's warehouse and distribution facility, 2 miles north of York at exit 24 on Interstate 83.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quirky but interesting side trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

On a recent road trip with my 13 year old son, we found this place on roadsideamerica.com (a great site for finding unusual attractions in some places). It was basically on our route, so we popped in. Weightlifting isn't everyone's bag, but if you don't take the museum too seriously, it can be a lot of fun. It's kind of in the back of a barbell store, and has some interesting facts and artifacts about weightlifting and weightlifters. If you're in the neighbourhood, it's worth a 1/2 an hour of your time [you'll even get to see a picture of Arnold Schwarzenegger :) ]

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very informative museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We visited here because of my husband, who is a weightlifter himself and wanted to see the museum. The museum is a self-guided tour, very well laid-out, and very informative. As my husband said, they pay homage to the old-school lifters. If you're not into weightlifting you may not like it as much, but it is interesting to see some of the strongmen of yesteryear and marvel at the things they did. And, they don't charge admission, so if you don't like it, you're not out anything but your time. Check it out, you might be surprised!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
“Got locked in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband, step son and I took a walk thru the gym, it was close to closing, and the employees didnt even anounce they were closing and we got locked in the gym, but ended up finding a door in the audoturium and was able to leave.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great for the die hard weight lifter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

Tremendous history of U.S. weight lifting to be explored. The store offers some deals on attire.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very interesting oddball museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

It was fascinating - I never knew this world existed! No silly toots, whistles or childish interactive displays here. This is a serious collection of well explained photographs, documents, and objects from this relatively unknown world wide sport. It is well worth the hour or so it takes to see it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to York Barbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York Barbell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.