We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Highway Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel

Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel to your Saves list
Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel
1162 Haines Road, York, PA 17402   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in York
iupato
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent Highway Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stopped late at night on our way to upstate NY and found this little motel a perfect place to get a little shut-eye. Quick in and out, rooms are clean, lady who checked us in was very pleasant and very reasonably priced. I highly recommend the little pizza place next door, Mexitaly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
1
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Checked out after twenty minutes!! We were tired and just looking for something close to the highway!!! Smelled horrid! Then saw the bugs!!! Three beside bed...a few ran under phone then saw more by microwave! Manager did refund and apologize..regardless that place some serious pest control!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg Pa.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

get a room away from the elevator! And if they tell you its a no smoking room check it out first , the guy before me must of been a heavy smoker!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I had a recommendation for this hotel/motel and was seriously disappointed for the price. The place nickels and dimes you to death with $5.00 charge for Wi-fi and .25 for ice. When they told me I had room #120 they said it was "nice". Well if nice means grandma's faded pink chairs and the tiniest TV for a hotel known to man I guess that means nice. I suppose they tried by putting pink sheets on the beds and it looked like they tried to update the bathroom. The flowing waterfall/fountain outside was the only redeeming thing about this place. When I asked the owner where I could find a local spot for a good salad they had no idea and recommended Pizza Hut & Panera. ugh

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Rooms are clean, furniture is older, as said in another review pillows are not the best but the staff is friendly and pets are welcome. I had no problem being it was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times. At first I thought the rooms were ok even though they could have been a little better "kept", but for the price they were adequote. However, the last time we stayed there, we were there for 4 days and 3 nights and our room was NEVER cleaned even though I called every day to remind them. By the time we got back, we were told each night that the cleaning staff was gone and that I had to go down to the lobby myself to get clean towels. When I checked out I asked to speak to the manager and I thought that seeing as we'd been there so many times in the past couple of months he would at least offer some kind of compensation (a free night in a clean room on our next visit would have been nice), all he said was that "he was on it". Basically I could tell he wasn't going to do anything. He told me he hoped it wouldn't "deter me" from coming back, but you can be sure I will NEVER go back there. I'd rather pay the $15 or $20 more a night to stay somewhere that will guarantee me a clean room (like the Hampton Inn).

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbhyork, general manager at Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel, responded to this review, December 15, 2008
Seriously disappointed , in response to the recent review please allow me to state the following facts. We are a small property and try to treat our costomers well , the housekeeping staff only works so many hours a day. When people leave their do not disturb sigh out all day , we honor their wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

Price was good. Room furniture very old. New pillows and comforters needed for beds, VERY CLUMPY OR OLD pillows Sink has scum around the handle. . Mold was on ceiling above shower. Maids need to do a better job cleaning. But for the price what do you expect

  • Liked — TV
  • Disliked — CLEANINESS
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel

Address: 1162 Haines Road, York, PA 17402
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in York
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Spirit of 76 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.