We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in town for the price...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
222 Arsenal Road, York, PA 17402 (Formerly York View Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in York
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best hotel in town for the price...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 days, and really liked it. Somewhat isolated on top of a hill, traffic noise was minimal. Hotel parking, but plenty of entrances. Staff is nice and chill. Some weird clientele (construction workers/ partiers) but the room was clean, internet was very fast, and the price was fantastic. The diner down the hill is open 24 hrs and WAY better than Dennys. Would not recommend for? families, kids, or young couples, but for anyone traveling on a budget, this place rocks!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    7
    2
    10
See reviews for
8
9
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Apparently, this motel had been closed for quite some time until the current owners recently reopened it.
Positives: proximity to highway 81 and Starbucks, free wi-fi.
Negatives: Old, smelly carpets in hallways. Doors separating hallways on springs, slamming all night. In room, there IS a coffee machine, but coffee is not provided (according to the owner/manager), toilet was not firmly bolted to floor, bathtub had no stopper if you want to take a bath, bathroom fan did not work (rusted, nasty cover), old and dirty spring mattresses, absolute cheapest quality "toilet paper", television circa 1992. In the morning, we went to the dining room for "breakfast". My shoes stuck to the floor, like in a movie theater. Stale bagels, some bread, butter, jam, cereal, weak, tasteless "coffee", fake apple and orange juices, and some apples. Sad.

The glamorous photo of their swimming pool is misleading - this motel is old, smelly, dirty and loud. I personally need coffee first thing in the morning, and I didn't appreciate having to schlep to the office to get some - yet they misleadingly advertise "coffee/tea maker in room".

Stay here ONLY as a last resort.

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I checked in on a Friday night after driving all day and finding several of my regular chains already full. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is obviously being renovated and smells like it....the smell of paint and glue was almost overwhelming. There was even a handyman painting the hallway stairs on a Saturday night.

My biggest complaint was the noise level. The doors all closed with a bang (even when you were trying to be careful) and it was VERY noisy throughout the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I send softball team here for tournaments all the time. It is a great and clean place. Very friendly and the pool is always clean. the kids love it. i stay here a lot and dont look any where else. The manger and front dest people are very kind and will help with what they can. Price was really good cheaper than everything around and nicer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I like the breakfast was fresh coffee was very good the lady at the front desk name Brenda was very helpful.
The only thing I did not understand was they do not have enough staff to come to room to clean found that different than any other hotel I stay at.
When I call the front desk need towel person states I can go to room cause he the only one working so I has to pick up the towel.
Which I found that strange.
All and all everything was good the reason I rated very good only because was clean and personal was very nice.

Room Tip: I like the size of the room nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'm in York a couple of times each year and usually stay at either the Holiday Inn Conference Center on Youcks Road (because that's where the events I attend are usually held) or the Red Roof Inn because it's near one of my favorite diners, the Round the Clock. But . . . last trip I some how screwed up my reservation and it was late when I arrived. Everything was booked at both places because of some Toy Train Convention, so i had to hunt for a room. I checked all the places along Route 30, but they were full too. I decided to eat at the Round the Clock Diner to figure out what I was going to do and when I pulled into the parking lot, I saw a sign for the Econo Lodge point up the hill behind the restaurant and decided to give it a try. I'm glad I did.

The Econo Lodge had a vacancy, probably because it is hard to see from the road. The motel looks like an old Howard Johnson place, but has been recently remodeled. The room I had was not just nice and clean, but it was actually attractively furnished and had a surprisingly upscale bath. Everything worked fine and the there was a refrigerator in the room to boot. Not something I expect with a cheap place stay . . . and it was cheap.

The only drawbacks that I could see were that the place does seem a little remote and the parking lot is pretty dark. Also, while the rooms are all on interior corridors, the access to those corridors isn't secured by a room key lock. I'm not sure that I'd be all that comfortable staying here if I was a single female.

But for me, it's now has moved into second place on my 'to stay' list after the Holiday Inn and Conference Center.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

i have been to this hotel a few times now that it has been a very pleasent and happy experience i enjoy the new managment they are very friendly and accomidate you to the fullest to make sure your stay with them is excellent. i would recommend that you go and stay at this hotel if you are looking for somewhere to stay for a day two days or more they have an outdoor pool which is big and great for families with children i have two smal children and they love to get into the pool the hotel is cleaned daily and i have not found anything wrong so far i can say that the overall experience for the econo lodge is great if you have not stayed with them please go and check it out they have very cheap prices for quality service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 222 Arsenal Road, York, PA 17402 (Formerly York View Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.