We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too pricey and restaurant needs a real menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too pricey and restaurant needs a real menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

$130 a night is a lot for a hotel of this calaber. Stayed here for a soccer tournament and the hotel was packed. Although it is a non-smoking hotel, you can tell that the place used to be filled with smoke. Our room still smelled of it. No refrigerators or microwaves in the room and the restaurant was only half-staffed with a limited menu (Oysters Rockefeller was the only appetizer they had??? definitely wouldn't eat that here) and the food that was available was pretty awful. An indoor BBQ buffet included hamburger patties that had been sitting there for hours, gray hot dogs and a salad that looked like it had been poured out of a bag. Not a green vegetable on the menu! Bartender was great though and the pool was nice as well. But skip the restaurant entirely until they come up with a real menu.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you got caught in the end of a school year celebration of proms and a major soccer tournament that sold out all the hotels in the area. The proms are and the tournaments are a once in a year events and we wish the next time you are back in Berks County that you would give a try us on a calm and more relaxing weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    63
    27
    21
    10
See reviews for
57
57
18
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Too bad we were looking for an upscale hotel to relax on a holiday weekend. From the time we pulled into the parking lot at 6 p.m. we had to compete for space with a bunch of local high school kids who were having their prom here. We managed to find a place to park on the opposite end of the lot from where our room was located and I had to work my way through the crowd of kids and the limousines in order to register. As my room was already prepaid non-refundable and I was unfamiliar with other hotels in the area, we were pretty much stuck here. I checked out the pool, which looked very nice, but it was crowded with kids who were horsing around, possibly the younger siblings of the prom kids. Wait it out until later, I thought, when the kids and parents will be worn out and gone in for the night. So, around 8:30, I checked the pool again only to find a new group of kids from the high school swim team who were having pizza delivered for a pool party. A volley ball net in the middle of the pool made sure that we wouldn't be getting in there this evening. I complained to the front desk clerk who smiled sweetly and said these were all paid guest so there was nothing she could do. The pool does open at 7 a.m., however, so I should try in the morning. I told her we were going to Hershey in the morning. Although the room was fairly soundproof and the king size bed very comfortable there was no getting away from the school-like atmosphere any time we stepped outside our room. This included kids running up and down hallways, unaccompanied by any parents. What high school kid could have asked for more? Unfortunately, we've both been out of high school for about forty years and will be not be coming back here. No complimentary breakfast here, either, so don't even ask.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hampton Inn a few blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry you got caught in the end of a school year celebration of proms and a major soccer tournament that sold out all the hotels in the area. The proms are and the tournaments are a once in a year events and we wish the next time you are back in Berks County that you would give a try us on a calm and more relaxing weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Crowne Plaza was such an unexpected and unique pleasure!... The staff was absolutely amazing...from the dining room staff to the front desk..and the housekeeping.. everyone was so friendly. The breakfast was truly amazing...excellent and healthy choices... Chef Paul made excellent omelets and the most delicious fruit smoothies! Maria, the restaurant manager was extremely friendly and cordial and made us feel quite at home. Belinda, our server, had such a friendly and cheerful manner...The hotel owner actually came to our table in the dining room and welcomed us to the hotel! His wife was such a pleasure to speak with..as she arranged the fresh flowers out on the courtyard beyond the pool. Where does one find such hospitality!!!!! We live in a fast food and fast paced impersonal world....but the Crowne Plaza is indeed the exception....and for that, we will gladly return. Based on this experience, we can say with 100% certainly that this hotel would be excellent for a business event, party or just an overnight stay.... Thank you for a job well done!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard...very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy our resort style hospitality and amenities. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. We look forward to your return. My wife and I are looking forward to sitting down with you and continuing the friendship we have found. I will pass along to our staff your encouraging words so they may celebrate making your dreams come true on your weekend get away with your daughters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is not normally my top of the line choice, however, our meeting was in the area. I found that the rooms were very good, service was great, and the staff was very friendly. It certainly met my needs, and would likely stay here, when in the area. Elevators are a bit slow, however. People seem to be always waiting on me to get down the elevator.

Room Tip: Nice place to stop over. And a very good overall value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity to again provide you with our legendary customer service on your return to the area. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was traveling with a group of 35 seniors on a bus trip to see "NOAH" at the Sight and Sound Theatre. We stayed two nights at the Crowne Plaza.
When our bus arrived at the hotel the staff was standing on the stairs outside waiting for us waving and clapping. This was the first time in my 20+ years traveling with seniors that this was how we were greeted. Very Welcoming!!! We had dinner and two breakfasts at the Crowne Plaza and the food at all our meals was excellent. The staff was always ready to get you what you needed and with a smile on their face. When we left the staff was outside again to wave goodbye. I would not hesitate to bring another group or even my family to the Crowne Plaza. A very pretty property.

Room Tip: We stayed in Paris. I was located next to the vending machine room and never heard anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpool, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thanks for posting and thanks for making Crowne Plaza Reading Pa, part of your destination experience for your tour bus guests. We are pleased that we are able to contribute to your success and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, md
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our first time at this hotel and stayed here because of the Berks Jazz Fest. Staff was very friendly. We stayed in the tower. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the bathroom was very small and no refrigerators in the room. The water pressure in the sink was down to almost a trickle and the tub drain was clogged. On the second day the toilet was not flushing properly and so I called down to let them know about these problems. I had to call later again that day because it didn't look like they had fixed the problem. So finally, we came back and the toilet was fixed but they just completely removed the stopper in the bathtub. Then on Saturday night, the so call Quiet Floor had people over and we were awakened at 2:30am. We called the front desk and they said they would address the problem. An hour later the party was finally broken up. Also powdered eggs on the breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: hear the street noise from the rooms on the front side of the hotel
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed the staff and your room in the tower. We apologize for the small plumbing issues that you had and appreciated you bringing them to our attention. The designated quiet floor that you were located on is a specific area that does not allow small children, pets or any sports teams so that we can control the level of noise on that floor. As you can understand the noise was not coming from hotel staff and we do our best to quickly respond to the concerns of our guests. We also pride ourselves on the outstanding full hot breakfast buffet that hosts all fresh items such as fresh fruit, oatmeal, grits, fresh scrambled eggs or egg cassorole, bacon, sausage, french toast and made to order omelets. I can assure you that we do not have powdered eggs at our breakfast. I encourage you to come back to the hotel in the future and give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you"re attending the Berks Jazz Fest, this hotel is the place to stay. It totally accommodates its jazz patrons as well as many of the musicians who seem to choose to stay there as well. The hotel is very clean and its staff extremely friendly and helpful. Additionally the hotel welcomes dogs and has adequate walking grounds. Our room was spacious and nicely appointed. The buffet breakfast in the hotel was convenient and delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaReading, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us. We are very happy to be pet friendly and to be able to accomodate guest's and their four legged friends. We understand how important it is to provide a pet friendly environment so that people are not restricted on their travels because they own a pet. We are also glad that you enjoyed your time at the Jazz Fest. lt has been a great success and we look forward to having the festival and you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: 1741 Papermill Rd, Wyomissing, PA 19610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wyomissing
#2 Family Hotel in Wyomissing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to join us in the heart of Berks County Pennsylvania. Whether you are here on business, or shopping at the Vanity Fair Outlets, we are committed to making your stay with us memorable. Our professional staff lives the spirit of hospitality with warm welcoming smiles, and the strong desire to exceed your expectations. Every hotel can offer you a bed, free WiFi, and Continental breakfast but they can't do it with the passion and dedication our staff has to you, our guest! Thursday evenings stop by Goodnites Lounge and enjoy "Caliente" our very own Latin night. Featuring authentic Latin food, great music and friendly people. Any day of the week is a great time to visit "Prime Steak & Wine", offering delicious foods that will satisfy even the most discerning palate. Thinking about getting away with the girls for the weekend? Park your car when you arrive and you won't need to get back in it until you're ready to leave. We've got it all here with our SPA-taneous and SHOP-taneous Getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Crowne Plaza Wyomissing
Sheraton Reading
Reading Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.