We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Reading

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Reading to your Saves list
Inn at Reading
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1040 Park Road, Wyomissing, PA 19610   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Budd Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel as we were supposed to stay only for a night but ended up staying for 2 nights. My mom gave me a Christmas gift for shopping at VA outlets and made a reservation for me and my husband at Inn at Reading. The girl at check-in was very friendly and helpful with the best shopping tips. The hotel looks older but we were amazed at the quality of room and its bathroom. It was all new, spotless and very spacious. In the evening, we had very nice dinner at their restaurant. It was homely feeling with comfy bed and we had very good sleep. Next morning, we enjoyed hot breakfast in restaurant. When it was almost time for us to check out, I asked my husband if it ok to stay for another night after shopping. He loved that idea. We also ate at another restaurant near the outlets. The food was not better than that of hotel but was very expensive. Though there was not much to do around the town, we enjoyed the shopping at the outlets and our 2 night stay at this hotel. We will definitely return here to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence A, General Manager at Inn at Reading, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Mary,
Thank you so much for staying at The Inn at Reading. We are very happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We are also glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our restaurant as well as the hotel and local shopping attractions.

Thank you again and we hope to see you and your husband again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    86
    38
    34
    35
See reviews for
79
57
24
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Have gone here for several years for Christmas dinner, this one was the worst.
We were seated at the farthest table from the buffet in the Pub. No table clothes on the tables, on a holiday unacceptable. The server eventually greeted us after approximately 10 minutes even though the area where were seated was almost empty. He asked if we wanted something to drink. The head of the table said we would like a bottle if wine. The server responded "what kind". No wine list was offered so he was asked if they has Chardonnay, he responded "yeah it's about $24 dollars".
He did bring the bottle already uncorked and pours equal amounts into the three glasses, no tasting was offered.
The buffet food was just bad. The best offering was the chicken with wild rice soup. They offered Au Gratin potatoes which tasted awful I don't know what they were. I had to wait 5 minutes for someone to show up at the carving station for a slice of cold fatty ham. The sweet potatoes and corn were okay. The had chicken fingers in a serving mist of which appeared to be under cooked. I took one that seemed to be properly cooked by color. It was hard and tasted like it had been there from the first round of food put out. Dessert was okay but took a long time for the server to offer coffee and never offered a second cup.
Sadly this restaurant in the only game in town on Christmas Day. After a number years of good experiences here on Christmas Day, after this year we will be eating at home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wyomissing hotels

Temple, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I attended a Christmas party there today and didn't have the experience I was hoping for. The food was delivered pretty randomly around the room (one or two at one table, then a few at another, then just one at ours, it was very haphazard.) The ham was very good, however the potatoes were very dry and overcooked (all around the table) and the vegetables were limp and just sad. The portions around the table were also not consistent. One plate looked full next to another plate of the same meal that looked lacking.

We did ask for refill on the rolls basket, and we were told there were no more. Not two minutes later we saw 2 other tables behind us get a new basket of rolls. The tea at the table didn't have any ice in it and it was quite an experience getting coffee. We asked our server, but several minutes later when we still didn't get any coffee, someone at the table asked another wait staff who was at the table next to us with a coffee pot in her hand for coffee, her response, with attitude, was "Your waiter will get you your own coffee." She did fill that ONE person's cup and walk away. We finally did get coffee from our waiter, but refills apparently weren't an option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence A, General Manager at Inn at Reading, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam:

I thank you for contacting me regarding the function that you attended at The Inn at Reading. I will discuss all of your comments with the Managers and staff of the Food and Beverage department. We usually have excellent reviews of our banquet functions (food and service ) so I was very disappointed to learn that we did not exceed your expectations. The food quality and service that you described are definitely not up to our standards and I will personally make sure that it is addressed. I sincerely apologize for not providing better service.

I would like to discuss your review with you further. Please feel free to email me or call me at (610) 372-7811. Thank you again for your feedback and I wish you and your family a Happy Holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were told we were getting a recently renovated room. It was nice and you could tell it had new carpet, furniture, paint, etc. We were pleased with the spacious room. It was quiet in our section and we did not have any disturbances from people in nearby rooms or in the halls. The hotel is close to many things including the Reading Outlets (VF Outlets) and restaurants.

My biggest issue was the confusion on the free but not free breakfast that is offered. The front desk clerk said breakfast started at 7am the next morning, she didn't tell us that it is only free on weekdays. So, Saturday morning we strolled down to the dining room and were told the buffet was such and such price or we could order from the menu. I have a tip for the management.....make some signage about this. I believe it could be simply explained to the guests at check in as to what days the breakfast is included. But, definitely a sign should be posted by the dining room, only because if not informed by the staff you have no clue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence A, General Manager at Inn at Reading, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at The Inn at Reading. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely look into posting some more information on our weekend breakfast prices and policy.

Thank you again for staying and The Inn at Reading and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Held all day training session on 14 Nov. I've been working with Tony Reyes for years now, and it only took one phone call and two brief emails and my entire event for 50 people was planned, including contract, overnight rooms for my special guests, menus (including special dietary needs), AV, and networking mixer.

I arrived at 6:45 AM and for a meeting planner, this facility is perfect for unloading and set-up. Everything was perfect. The staff is incredibly friendly and attentive. Because of the number of staff servicing my event I assumed we were the only group on-site, but later I headed to the lobby and was surprised to see every single meeting room was occupied with an event. This facility is really focused on customer service!

Food was staged beautifully, and of the highest quality. As lunch was wrapping up, I saw one of my attendees approach a server and comment on the great food, and at least three other attendees tracked me down and complimented the food and service.

The customer is still king at the Inn at Reading. Professional staff, exceptional food, and willingness to remain flexible to accommodate special requests. I'm already checking my calendar to see when I can return with another event.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence A, General Manager at Inn at Reading, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Rose,

Thank you so much for your comments. It was our pleasure to be able to serve you. I am very glad that your event went well and that you were pleased with the quality service and food that we provide our guests. I will thank Tony and the rest of the staff for their efforts and I will also pass along your comments as well.

We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My second visit here, the first being in 1993. It still had its friendly welcoming atmosphere, and the bar seemed familiar. Instead of direct access from the main road on my earlier visit, access is now via a convoluted route. But the Inn's directions are faultless! It has an imposing entrance leading to a large lobby. It is fairly spacious inside, having a large number of function rooms, so there is plenty of opportunity to wander about inside, especially as it was raining. The Inn is situated very close to two busy major roads, but there was little road noise inside in my room. The area around the Inn seems to be mostly residential with several interspersed industrial estates. There is a huge Outlet Mall about a mile away.My bedroom was large, comfy beds, coffee maker etc, but no safe. No internal noise apart from the inevitable load talking guest.The room's decor had a refurbished appearance but the corridors to the rooms had seen wear. Free Wi-Fi throughout the Inn.
Reception was very friendly and helpful, supplying a map of local eateries, which are plentiful within a short drive, or a 15 minute walk. There is a gas station next door with a convenience store. For old times sake, we ate in the Publick Bar. There was a wide range of food and drink, briskly served and delivered, decent quality and prices.
The included breakfast was enjoyable. The restaurant and buffet had been devastated by two tour groups, so we waited for 10 mins till order was re-installed. Then it was really good; great service, quiet restful ambiance, good range of food- very adequate. (Advice here is to ask reception when the tour groups are eating- and avoid them)
All in all good value for money, a pleasant second stay.

Room Tip: Probably rooms facing the pool may suffer from less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence A, General Manager at Inn at Reading, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Inn at Reading. I will review all of your comments with my staff. Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Four of us stayed here in late october. We were greeted warmly upon our early afternoon arrival, Unlike 2 years ago, the new reception desk was quite accomadating. ie- early check-in,directions,room choice,etc.BRAVO FOR THE MANAGEMENT..

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terence A, General Manager at Inn at Reading, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your response. I am gad to see that you noticed the changes that we have made at The Inn at Reading. It was truly our pleasure to be able to serve you and we look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to the Reading area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyomissing
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wyomissing (Reading)
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Reading/Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Reading

Address: 1040 Park Road, Wyomissing, PA 19610
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wyomissing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wyomissing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are looking for colonial charm, comfortable first class accommodations, sumptuous meals and gracious service, consider the Inn At Reading. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Reading Hotel Wyomissing
Hotel At Reading
At Reading Hotel
Bed Breakfast Reading

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Reading, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.