We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RockBass Grill

RockBass Grill
461 S Front Street, Wormleysburg, PA 17043
(717) 731-1160
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
RockBass Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: RockBass Grill features casual dinning offering fresh cut fish & steaks. We offer a raw bar that changes on a regular basis. Enjoy dining with a view of the Susquehanna River. A private dinning room for up to 30 people is available.
Crownsville
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The calamari was great. The New England clam chowder as something to skip as the spoon could stand up in it. My husband had the French Onion Soup and the Chicken wrap enjoyed them both. I had a cheeseburger and it was cooked perfect and wonderful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    21
    34
    13
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place with a great view of the susquahanna and Harrisburg skyline. Food is good, service is wonderful and the prices are reasonable for the quality you receive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice selection of fresh fish and other items prepared competently”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I struggled to go with three or four stars here and with I could give it a 3.5. This is a local place for us and we have eaten here nearly a dozen times over many years. In general the food is competently prepared and fresh. They always have a nice selection of a half dozen or more fresh fish choices with a number of different preparations for each. The standard menu also includes some more unusual fish dishes as well as a nice selection of shellfish, pasta, steaks and chops, and chicken dishes.

There is nothing here that is world class cuisine, but IMO it compares favorably to our local Bonefish Grill and is generally not as expensive. Consistency is something I look for in a local restaurant and you can pretty much rely on not getting overcooked chewy shellfish, dried out swordfish, or those bland tiger Shrimp.

A nice touch here is the hushpuppies that come with the bread basket. These are as good as I have had for a long time and not greasy. The bread in the basket is not so wonderful, but the hushpuppies make up for it.

This restaurant has lots of booths and tables at or near the windows along the Susquehanna river looking directly across to the city Island sports and entertainment area and the Harrisburg waterfront beyond. It is a very nice view in the evening, especially during summer months with the pleasure boat traffic going by.

It's consistently good food in a nice atmosphere with a great view. If you are looking for a good selection of seafood in Harrisburg this is about as good as it gets.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Haven, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice view, great food, large portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Server Joe was humorous and very outgoing. Had a lot of suggestions from the menu when asked. Very attentive. Food was fantastic! Our group had wood-fired salmon, salmon salad, jambalaya (with lots of large pieces so meat), and fish & chips (a huge piece of fish). All meals were large and 3 of the 4 of us took boxes home with enough for another meal-the wood fired salmon was so good I couldn't keep any for later! We had no alcohol and our meal for 4 was in the $80s without tip. Seemed quite reasonable for the food and setting. Place is nice casual and has a view of the Susquehanna River if you get a river-side booth (just ask). We've dined here before and it never disappoints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Enjoyed a nice order off the menu Sunday brunch with friends. Made a reservation so we could have a window seat overlooking river and capitol. Service was fine. Place was busy and everyone smiling (it was Sunday afterall). Had house special drinks - mimosa and bloody mary. Mimosa was delicious with fresh squeezed oj. Bloody mary tasted watered down. I had grandpas pancakes. The plates were huge and loaded with pancakes, ham, homefries (large chunked potatos) and fruit. Very good but impossible to eat all. Friends got the eggs benedict which really looked amazing - get with crab cakes or on ham. I'd get the EB if I ever go back. Price was decent, I think about $60 for all three of us. Place was clean, had a view, service was adequate and food was a strong good. I'd recommend it for a little upper end brunch. I prefer the Sunday brunch buffet however. I believe you can order any items off menu other than bfast.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RockBass Grill also viewed

 

Been to RockBass Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RockBass Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.