We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a great choice....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   860 N. Front St., US 15, 11, Wormleysburg, PA 17043-1024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wormleysburg
Hamilton,Ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“NOT a great choice....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

we're NOT fussy folks, we like clean, well attended,and well run places, we sometimes overlook the obvious clues to shabby places to stay,and are often surprised when we find ourselves quite content in a shabby place because the owners are great,or the staff is great, or the service is great, or the location is great...we ALWAYS try to find some good in places we stay,and without hesitation, we'd say that IF you see this place....keep driving!
The owners try hard I'm sure, and are kind and gentle, but, need to find something ELSE to do, than run a lodging place of this caliber.....it's NOT habitable in it's current state!
I'd STRONGLY suggest passing up a stay at this place....

Room Tip: Don't bother......
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    12
    14
See reviews for
9
10
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, FL, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Having had previous positive EconoLodge results, we made reservations for the Econo Lodge at 860, N. Front St., Wormleysburg, PA. At driving in the potted driveway, we parked in front of three windows boarded up with rotting wood and one door framed with it. There were garbage cans turned over in the main entrance and soda paper containers tossed and rolling around in the entry way. When I went into the main lobby, it reeked of tobacco smoke, probably from the construction workers working on the place. There was no one in the lobby, so, after ringing the bell twice, I returned to the car and called Choice hotels requesting a cancellation since the hotel was not ready for "guests". They called the owner who refused to acknowledge it's condition. We had no other choice but to cancel the second night (not protected by the 4pm prior day rule) and make a reservation at a Comfort Inn nearby. This place is disgusting - don't even consider it!

Room Tip: Avoid Harrisburg, what we saw wasn't worth the price of a hotel room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach,fl
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Run down property attached to a run down bar. Numerous cigarette burns in hallway carpet. Smell of insecticides in hallway. Surprised a national chain would put their name on this hotel.
We cancelled our reservation (without a hassle,the only positive experience) and relocated to a nearby Quality Inn which was far superior.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

From a beautiful Comfort Suites last night to this dump for 13 cents more!!! Where do I begin? Again, it's non-smoking on the upper level and smoking below. Hard to find. Building in front of hotel is a bar/grill. Building is about 50 yards from a Railroad track that is very busy! Owner barely speaks English. "Continental Breakfast" is just coffee and donuts. Very old and rickety. Room had cobwebs. Very loud bathroom fan which is operated with the light switch..it's amazing the difference in these hotels.

Room Tip: Don't stay here is your best choice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ediinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

You get what you pay for and that's not much. The location could be better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

my family and i booked a room from econo lodge 860 n front street in wormleyburg pa it was horrible there were no sheets on the beds ppl smoking cigs and pot in the hall ways we couldnt use the toilet becasue it was clogged out alarm clock didnt keep time and the breakfast consisted of muffins two piece's of bread and water then when we asked the where the breakfast was the hindu lady freaked the hell out of us we had 5ppl in our room with 1 towel and 1 rag and they refused to give us more and the worst part of it is my daughter husband and i got attacked by bed bugs i insist DO NOT STAY AT THIS MOTEL !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I booked through Choice Hotels website without checking reviews on Advisor. When will I learn??? Chose Econo Lodge because of location and thought I'd save a few dollars. "Lobby" was more like a hallway, dirty carpet which smelled slightly of urine. Stars to second floor hadn't been cleaned in a while. Hallway had a different odor than the lobby. Room didn't have an odor, but had been used for years. Very small bathroom with poor lighting. We couldn't get the show to work because we didn't pull hard enough on tub control. Chain for toilet float broke. On/Off button of TV remote didn't work.
While I was checking in another customer mentioned something about noise from train, but we didn't notice any on Saturday night.
Spend an extra $25 for a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 860 N. Front St., US 15, 11, Wormleysburg, PA 17043-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wormleysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wormleysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wormleysburg Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Wormleysburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.