We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience I'd Rather Forget...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Genetti Lycoming

Save Saved
You added Genetti Lycoming to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Genetti Lycoming
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West Fourth Street, Williamsport, PA 17701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE FULL HOT BREAKFAST
Ranked #2 of 14 hotels in Williamsport
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An Experience I'd Rather Forget...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

My husband and I travelled 5 hours to attend a wedding at the Genetti - we booked a room on the recommendation of the Bride and Groom - a big mistake. I should imagine that the hotel was indeed a gem in its heyday....50 years ago....but it hasn't been touched since then and is now tired, dirty, and in no way appealing. On the positive side, the staff are very friendly and helpful. But the bad outweighs the good. We entered the hotel from the parking lot area, down a loooonnnnngggg corridor with peeling paint and carpeting that needs a good cleaning/vacuuming. Not an attractive first impression. As the previous reviewer mentioned, there is an odor in the rooms which probably comes from the rugs or draperies....definately the result of being a "pet friendly" hotel. Our bathroom was outdated and moldy. It took 45 minutes receive an order chicken fingers from the bar downstairs. The Ballroom is dingy, old and just plain nasty. We also noticed the box-like structure in the elevator - most disconcerting. We were awake at 7am the morning after the wedding and had checked out by 7.30. On the way out of town we passed a roadside motel...perhaps we would have had better luck there. Indeed it is time to shut down the hotel and do a complete renovation.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    45
    14
    20
    12
See reviews for
46
62
17
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
biggens
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2006

Terrible food, cheap linens, overpriced, dirty bathrooms, ugly furnishings, poor service.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

My husband and I just happened to have to travel back "home", which is the Finger Lakes Region of NY State, the same weekend as the Watkins Glen NASCAR race. We didn't want to get in the middle of that, so I decided to look for a place to stay in Williamsport since it's so close to that area. Anyway, I looked at all the different chain motel/hotel prices, and was amazed at how high the rates were. I have seen signs for the Genetti Hotel for as long as I can remember, and decided to see what that rate might be. It was less than the EconoLodge and the Super8, so I booked a room.
Upon entering the hotel I was pleased by the fact it had "class". From the pictures of all the important people who had stayed there over the years, to opulant chandeliers, the dark wood, and even the old toilet and tub (which I think added to the fun of staying there). I know they gave me a free room upgrade, as the room had a king vs. queen bed, and was a corner room, to boot, which made it very nice.
We really enjoyed this, and are so glad we stayed here!!

  • Liked — Great old Hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2006

I first stayed in this hotel in 1965 when it was called the Lycoming. At that time, I came in on the old Pennsylvania Railroad to which era this hotel belongs. I like old quaint hotels and wanted to return to see how the old gal was doing. The Genetti is one of the few old downtown hotels in small and medium-sized U.S. cities to escape the wrecking ball. Well I can tell you that the room in which I stayed hadn't changed much in over 40 years. There was a newer bathroom sink and vanity but the toilet and tub were the original equipment. The room was small which might account for its description as "European style". There was an odor in the room which could have come from the rugs, draperies or maybe the wallpaper. I noted that the hotel advertises itself as "pet friendly." I noticed that the elevators had a box-like structure covering about 1/3 of the floor space in the cab. I had never seen anything like that before and asked a maintenance man what it was for. He told me that due to the original hoisting equipment, the cab could only carry 2000 lbs. The box was placed there to restrict the number of people who could ride in the cab at one time. Maybe this is a clue that it's time to shut down the hotel and do a complete renovation.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2006

I stayed here a couple times in the past year and find it to be a quaint and friendly establishment. The history and archetecture are worth the price of the room. The Genetti makes me feel like I'm in a B/W movie from old times when hotels were happening places. Yes the inexpensive rooms are a bit small and the heat can be erratic but they have done a fine job of keeping a fine old hotel serving present day travelers and making them welcome. The lounge is someting to be seen. It is on the first floor on the corner of the building and has beveled glass panes looking out onto the street scene. Wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

After attracting you with it's history and location. The hotel Genitti needs some improving. It is an old hotel and needs some renovations. There was no water pressure in the shower, and the tempature was very inconsistant. I found two spiders in my room. The room was very, very small. And the air conditioner was a window unit which was so loud, I could not sleep. They try to make everything up with friendly service, but that did not help the fact I did not sleep. The bed was uncomfortable too.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2005

If you are expecting the same hotel experience you get from a major chain, you will be disappointed (or delighted). Genetti has been around since 1922, and you can tell. But with the smaller rooms and older fixtures comes a friendly staff and a central location. Great Sunday brunch is served downstairs and the lobby hallways are filled with b/w photos of visits to the hotel by famous people. For the price ($75 on a holiday weekend), I was quite satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Genetti Lycoming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genetti Lycoming

Address: 200 West Fourth Street, Williamsport, PA 17701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Williamsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williamsport
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Williamsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Genetti Lycoming 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Genetti Lycoming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genetti Lycoming Williamsport
Genetti Lycoming Hotel Williamsport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genetti Lycoming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.