We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a Sheraton or Hilton and a little quirky, but a pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Genetti Lycoming

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Genetti Lycoming to your Saves list
Genetti Lycoming
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West Fourth Street, Williamsport, PA 17701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Best Free Breakfast!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Williamsport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“It's not a Sheraton or Hilton and a little quirky, but a pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I just returned from a two-night stay at the Genetti. It was my first visit there, and it was for a conference held at the hotel. First thing to remember--this is a 90 year old in-town hotel. If you are expecting something similar to suite at a new chain hotel, you will be disappointed. The rooms and bathrooms are quite small. My room was very dated--peeling wallpaper and old bathroom fixtures. My coworkers had rooms that were recently updated--as in I could still smell the new carpet--and they were beautiful. The rooms were tidy but the furniture was a little dusty although the bathrooms and bedding were very clean. On a very positive note, EVERY staff member that I encountered was very, very friendly--honestly, the most polite and engaged hotel staff that I have ever seen. The breakfast buffet is very good. The meetings rooms are spacious and conveniently located. Parking is free and gated. There are many restaurants and a Wegman's within walking distance. The neatest thing--the manager's name is Gus Genetti! Gotta love old businesses that are family owned! Overall, this was a pleasant stay, and I would return to the hotel. Older in-town hotels are a great experience, and with a little more attention to some 'details' this place could be one of the best!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisphreak, Front Office Manager at Genetti Lycoming, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, convenient downtown location, our deluxe breakfast buffet, free gated parking and spacious meeting rooms. Reviewing your stay we were sorry to see that you were placed in a room in need of repair. As you noted we are 90 years old and are currently remodeling many of our rooms with more work scheduled. When you are in Williamsport again, give us a try and request a newly renovated room & we feel you will be happy with your accomodations.
Until we meet again,
Kathy Taylor, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    73
    15
    23
    15
See reviews for
70
96
20
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just checked into this lovely hotel. Room is just right. The staff are very accommodating. What a great alternative to the chain hotels in the area. I also understand that the 11th floor is haunted.Wish I were staying for more than one night!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisphreak, Front Office Manager at Genetti Lycoming, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Genetti. Thank you for your positive review and we hope the next time you find yourself in or near Williamsport you will stay with us again.
Best regards,
Kathy Taylor, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am a sucker for architecture and this hotel truly delivered, now I was nervous about staying at a historic hotel lets face it that can mean bad things for the travel but the Genetti has been about to accomplish the near impossible, keep its amazing historic integrity yet evolve itself to work in the 21st century. My room was large and spacious and it felt newly remodeled but tasteful, the staff is top knotch, I didn't want for anything while I was there, I couldn't be happier with my stay and look forward to my return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisphreak, Front Office Manager at Genetti Lycoming, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us! We take a great deal of pride in that fact that we are a 90 year old hotel & able to provide guests with the historic feel along with modern amenities. We appreciate your kind and supportive words and thank you again for sharing and hopefully we will see you again soon!
Safe Travels,
Kathy Taylor, Guest Services Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It would be impossible to have had a better stay at the Genetti Hotel. We were in town overnight for a funeral, with arrangements made at the last minute. The staff at the hotel, from the reservations assistant on the phone to the registration desk people, to the staff in the hotel, were accommodating and friendly. The room was amazingly beautiful, clean, comfortable, and quiet. It's an historic hotel with modern amenities. The breakfast buffet was delicious and full of comfort foods. I truly appreciate the care this hotel and staff provided during our stay.

Room Tip: I think any room in this hotel would be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisphreak, Front Office Manager at Genetti Lycoming, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We are sorry to hear about the circumstances which brought you to Williamsport, but we are glad our staff was able to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you so much for sharing your experience at the Genetti. We hope that the next time you are in the Williamsport area you come and stay with us again.
Best regards,
Kathy Taylor, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Every member of the staff that we encountered where awesome! I've never stayed anywhere before that everyone, the front desk staff, the restaurant staff, the security guard, was this nice. The hotel is very old but very nice! It was nice to stay somewhere that wasn't your typical place to stay. The lobby was nice. Our room was also nice, and very clean. I really liked the ceiling fan. The beds were very comfortable. The free breakfast buffet was the best one I've ever eaten at. There seemed to be plenty of free parking even with an event going on next door. We really enjoyed this hotel and would stay here again if we go back to Williamsport!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisphreak, Front Office Manager at Genetti Lycoming, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We certainly appreciate your time in reviewing the Genetti Hotel.
Thank you for noting our fabulous staff - throughout the hotel - as we really take a great deal of pride in our employees. Here at the Genetti we feel as though they are the cornerstone of our business.
Thank you again & look forward to your next stay with us.
Kathy Taylor,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I love the location of this hotel and all the staff members are great. The front desk clerk Jillian helped me out alot after I complained about how badly room service was the first week. I complained to Jillian and the problem was resolved. I've stayed here twice and besides the bad week of room service my stay was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisphreak, Front Office Manager at Genetti Lycoming, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Kevin,

We are truly sorry that your room was not up to our standards. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention so that we could correct it in a timely manner. We are delighted to hear that when being informed our staff was able to resolve everything and glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Thank you,
Kathy Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor Township
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Never having been to Williamsport, we found this downtown hotel great!. Easy to get to from Route 15/Interstate99. Great breakfast included. So nice we returned two nights later on our way home from Niagara Falls.Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 9th flood had large rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennisphreak, Front Office Manager at Genetti Lycoming, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Terry,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stays with us here at the Genetti of Williamsport. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself so much that you returned on your way back through. We hope we have made such an impression on you that every time you travel through Pennsylvania you look forward to staying with us.
Thank you,
Kathy Taylor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Genetti Lycoming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genetti Lycoming

Address: 200 West Fourth Street, Williamsport, PA 17701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Williamsport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsport
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsport
#3 Family Hotel in Williamsport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Genetti Lycoming 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Genetti Hotel has been creating memories for world wide travelers since 1922. Our Convenient downtown location in combination with the hotels warm atmosphere and friendly staff make our hotel the perfect choice. We offer a variety of traditional rooms along with whirlpool suites and 'extended stay' rooms. Over 200 hotel rooms, 8,000 sq. Feet of banquet space, full service restaurant and bar & much much more!! We've got everything - all under one roof - to accommodate your needs! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Genetti Lycoming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genetti Lycoming Williamsport
Genetti Lycoming Hotel Williamsport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Genetti Lycoming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.