We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pig's Ear Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Pig's Ear Pub
939 Westminster Dr, Williamsport, PA 17701-3948
570-322-7128
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 155 Restaurants in Williamsport
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out of Business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It only took Justin 6 months to run this once decent establishment into the ground. But that's what happens when you don't pay your employees or any of the other bills. If this drunk ever buys another business you can expect the same results.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was way better under the old management. Justin's family may have run a bar for generations (Kast Hotel, which is now under new management for good reason) but he has no clue what he is doing unless you count sitting at the end of the bar dumping beer down his throat.. The food is the standard frozen stuff from the distributor just at a much higher price. This place is a dive pretending to be something more and and anyone claiming otherwise is either clueless about food or a shill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Someone else already picked the best title: Don't Judge a Book by It's Cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Thought we'd try it since we'd heard it was under new owenership by a family member of the former Hotel Kast ownership. Not too promising to look at, and a bit dark once you go in. Okay, it's a bar. Not fancy, and not pretending to be. The food was really good, and fairly-priced. I can't speak to the wings because we went for a Sunday afternoon meal. Not busy at all, which was ashame based on the food. It's not gourmet, but good. The meat ravioli had great sauce, and decent filling. The french dip was okay. Salads and beverages very good. Service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Williamsport
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Empty glass pile up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Six of us went to the Pig's Ear to eat, drink and listen to a band (The Goombah's-fabulous). Our server was very sweet and efficient. Two had the salsbury steak special. Huge portions, but a little on the salty side. The sandwiches the rest of us had were hearty and tasted good. The drink special was a long island iced tea for $3...one would think if that's your drink special the bartender would know how to make one...they were terrible. Trying to fit a Long Island Iced Tea into a rocks glass can also affect the flavor of the drink, don't you think?
The waitress clocked off at 8:00, and we tipped her out . Band started at 9, so we continued to get drinks, and a few more tables filled up.
Here's my beef. The bartender and the "OWNER" walked by our table several times and not once did they bother to clear off any glasses. At one point there were over 13 glasses on our table. People who used the other tables left and those tables were not even cleared. They set that way the rest of the evening. I see an owner/manager who is obvsiously VERY lazy to not clear the tables. Why? Might help business if you came around and said hello to your patrons rather than sit at the end of the bar all night.
This could be a good place to go, if the new managment/owner takes pride in his establishment instead of just sitting back and doing nothing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Love the wings and the rest of the food is amazing as well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pig's Ear Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Pig's Ear Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pig's Ear Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.