We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and excellent food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morrone's Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Morrone's Cafe
738 W 4th St, Williamsport, PA 17701-5904
570-323-3030
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 155 Restaurants in Williamsport
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent service and excellent food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My first time ever to Morrone's, and I have to say, the food was absolutely delicious! Our server was very attentive and very good at her job.

The entrees are a little pricey, but I think it was very well worth it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average, but could have been so much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Some time ago my family and I had tried their original South Williamsport place, and weren't overly impressed, but we thought we'd give the new location a try. Despite the neighborhood it's is an improvement (safe enough in daylight). The food is somewhat better, but still falls short.
From the different sauces seeming too similar in seasoning and being mundane, nothing was very impressive. We've noticed a rather sad trend lately where a lot of places put a great deal of effort into a nice atmosphere or gimmick. Here it was great atmosphere. If they'd spent half as much effort on the food, it would be successful. For the price, I'd say not worth it. Service decent but not stellar, and yes, as one other review mentioned, even the iced tea was sour. They claimed it was fresh-brewed. If you can't get the simple details right, you probably can't handle the bigger ones. Nothing inedible, just disappointing.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montoursville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

3 times we have dined there and, on every occassion, the pasta was perfect al dente.
Food has been consistently excellent no matter what we ordered.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We were glad to hear that Morrones had reopened their restaurant. We had liked their restaurant in South Side when it was open there. So we decided to check it out.

First of all, the location is not that great, right next to Campbell Street. But luckily they have parking right behind the restaurant up the little alley way. That was good.

I have to hand it to them, they did a good job with the interior of the restaurant and they have a cool little bar area as well. We like the atmosphere here.

For the main course, I love lasagne so I decided to give it a try. My wife had the scallops dish and she liked it.

The lasagne had too much pasta in it and not enough meat and cheese. It was good, but not as good as the Villa or the Triangle. The price was about the same at all these places.

So as far as the lasagne, we would recommend Morrone's but they are not quite as good as the Villa or the Triangle.

We like this place and will come back. We like the atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN Williamsport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

THE ONLY RESTAURANT I DINE @ WHEN I AM IN Williamsport it rivals any restaurant
in Providence Rhode Island

THE BEST Lasagna Ever

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morrone's Cafe also viewed

 
Williamsport, PA
 

Been to Morrone's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morrone's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.