We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stop!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1063 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice stop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Very clean, good comfortable bed, nice hot shower with good water pressure. Easy on and off the freeway, close to places to eat and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful. This was our second time we will be back for a third time.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    59
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
42
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a great hotel stay. The room was clean, the lobby was inviting, and the check in was fast. Of course I was able to have a few chocolate chip cookies while I waited for the lady in front of me to check in. The bathroom was up to par as was the comfort of the bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, New York, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very impressed with this property. Rooms and bath are small but nicely appointed.. Furnishings were clean and neat. Breakfast was outstanding with two kinds of sausage, scrambled eggs( steaming hot) and all the other usual items. Only drawback to our king bed was it was very hard. Rooms are small but fine for two people. Shuttle to the casino was prompt and friendly as were the front desk clerks. I can recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfeild,Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is a new and well appointed property. It was a little out of the way and hard to find, even with the directions from the reservation. The room was well clean and comfortable. the sounds of doors closing on the floor (Fourth)created a problem late in the evening. The loby area was welcoming although a little tight for space. The breakfast area provided enough seating for the amount of guests. Although the employee in the area kept the selections filled she did not respond to a guest that had spilled his coffee but rather gave him a cleaning cloth to wipe up the coffee area and then only after he asked for assistance.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room at the end of a hall way this may lessen the door noise (opening and closing)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear jamesmentors,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We are glad you found our hotel to be well appointed. I regret the inconvenience you may have had in locating our property and if the noise levels were a bit bothersome.

Despite this, I do hope you will return to stay with us again at some future date when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Is stayed at this Holiday Inn Express during a trip to Wilkes-Barre, PA for work. It was a typical Holiday Inn Express (which means it was very nice), but the staff here put this place over the top. I was traveling with a group of coworkers and two of them had some small, fairly simple issues. One thought the room configuration made it feel small and she did not like it. The other one had an AC unit that was a little loud. The staff immediately apologized and moved both people to new rooms to meet their needs. We were there for a week, but they took the time to learn who we were and it felt like we were coming back to our home every day. They went above and beyond to help make our week comfortable and relaxing. I will stay here any time I am traveling east and need to go through Pennsylvania. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have stayed at this particular HIExp several times. Although it is not particularly conveniently located off I-81 it is worth going there as the location is quiet for a congested area. Staff is very helpful. Manager needs to hire someone to clean up the grounds. There is a lot of trash lying around.
The a/c- heating unit in the room very noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night during a recent business trip. The hotel is up on a hill - you'll see their sign when you drive on highway 315, but you would need to turn and drive up a hill to find their location. We arrived there at night time - staff was friendly and offered cookies and a "welcome"-bag (which included a small water bottle, 2 mints and a small bag of pretzel). the welcome-bag was much appreciated - after a long drive and work day. My room was located on the 3rd floor, room# 313. It was normal-sized, equipped with TV, fridge, desk, etc. - the usual accommodation. The only issue for me was the thin walls. I could hear the room next to me, whenever they flush their toilets, took a shower, etc... I didn't get much sleep that night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear tramimaus ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East

Address: 1063 Highway 315, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Wilkes-Barre East. We welcome you to historic Wilkes-Barre and our hotel, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express. Located in the Pocono foothills, this Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania hotel is ideal for business & leisure travelers with its easy access to I-81 and Hwy. 315. Business travelers seeking Wilkes-Barre accommodations will appreciate our hotel's courtesy shuttle to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Airport (AVP), just eight miles away. We re convenient to businesses such as Fortune Fabrics, American Silk and the Social Security Center. Additionally, the Veterans Administration Hospital is one mile away. Leisure travelers enjoying a getaway to the Poconos will love our location. From a heritage tour to a sporting weekend, we want to be your home away from home. Our hotel in Wilkes-Barre is a great starting point for day trips to Rickett s Glen State Park, and we re only one mile from the Mohegan Sun Casino. Wachovia Arena is three miles away. This newly renovated Wilkes-Barre hotel offers you one of the best hotel deals in Wilkes-Barre. We offer a courtesy shuttle for trips within a mile of our hotel. From our indoor heated pool (opening Sept 2009) to the on-site fitness center, our hotel has upgraded amenities you can enjoy. In addition, our high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay connected. So on your next visit to the Diamond City, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Wilkes-Barre, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Wilkes-Barre Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre
Hampton Inn Wilkes-Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Wilkes Barre East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.