We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, especially if visiting Mohegan Sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Wildflower Drive at Route 115, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-9791 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wilkes-Barre
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, especially if visiting Mohegan Sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed here last weekend for Oktoberfest at Mohegan Sun at Pocono Downs. We got an excellent rate on a King Suite with our AAA card. For what we paid and what was included in our stay, you really can’t beat it.

Hotel was very nice and our room was spacious, quiet and clean. We loved the living room area with couch, dining table, refrigerator, microwave and flat-screen TV. The tube TV in the bedroom had a blacked-out screen and we actually forgot to call about this because we weren’t in the room very much.

The best thing about this hotel was the free 24-hour shuttle to Mohegan Sun on Fridays and Saturdays. Parking at Mohegan is a nightmare, so that was a wonderful bonus and the shuttle drivers were extremely friendly and accommodating.

The price of the hotel also includes a breakfast buffet which had the usual breakfast fare of cereal, juice, yogurt, pastries, eggs, sausage and potatoes. The food was good and we liked that they served breakfast until 10:30 so we could sleep in a bit.

As far as the negatives, they were minor. One thing I cannot understand is that they charged me extra for having 2 people in the room. When I booked it online at AAA, I put down 1 person, not really thinking it mattered that I would be with my boyfriend. When we checked in, I was told that it was an extra five dollars and change for an additional person. I thought this was quite odd since most rooms and rates are based on double occupancy. It was only five dollars but it still seemed strange to us. My boyfriend also noticed that the couches in the lobby had rips in them, which I guess didn’t bother me as much. With the low rate, breakfast and free shuttle, I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you are planning to spend some time at Mohegan Sun.

Room Tip: For a little more money get a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    98
    23
    14
    8
See reviews for
111
111
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our whole family of 23 stayed at the East Mt. Inn for a nearby funeral. The hotel was clean, bright, with sweet views of the mountains. Kids loved the pool and the grounds and adults liked being together at the bar. One of the best, affordable places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Stayed two nights at this Best Western, to attend a niece's wedding at a nearby hotel. I'm so glad we did! The front desk was prompt, friendly and polite. It was the weekend of Hurricane Irene, and the hotel printed a concise sheet with emergency information: where to get flashlights, what to do if a prolonged power outage occurs, and so forth. Nothing serious happened, but we were impressed that the hotel was so proactive. Also impressed that the electronic door locks on each room are battery-powered, so they'd work even during an outage.

The room was big and the double queen beds and linens were very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. Nice views from our room, too. We enjoyed the jacuzzi by the pool. And the free breakfast was fantastic -- great selection of delicious hot and cold items, and friendly servers.

We'd definitely stay here again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed overnight at this hotel while on a road trip. We had a very nice quiet room with a comfortable bed and a great buffet breakfast. Yes, the hotel lobby and restaurant are dated but the rooms are up to date. It's quite a value with free internet and a free breakfast. Will stay here again. Also, I agree that Hotwire has this hotel listed as a 3 1/2 star. I'd agree with the rating if the hotel common areas were updated. Also, the front desk was very helpful in making a restaurant reservation at Cafe Toscano in downtown Wilkes-Barre which ended up being one of the best meals on the trip.The breakfast waitress was very prompt in refilling our coffee.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Bed was very hard, no matress pad. Mold in shower, very noise fan in bathroom. Comes on every time you turn on the light. Breakfast was nice and lobby was nice.

This is not a 3 1/2 as stated by Hotwire. Booked and paid for a 3 1/2 but got a 2 star value on Hotwire. Hotwire got us again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way driving from NH to VA. It was right off the highway and very convenient. When we got there we were starving and it was nice to have the little restaurant there for dinner and not have to go out again. We enjoyed the full breakfast and it's really a good spread with much more than your usual Continental breakfast that most places offer: eggs, sausage, home fries, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, muffins, and several kinds of juice. We were able to fill up before our day of driving.

Beds were comfortable. AC nice and cold. Great view of the sunset over the mountains from our window as an added bonus. :-)

This hotel is clean and we didn't have any problems with it. It's just a good basic place to stay. Nothing fancy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I found this hotel via Hotwire and was able to book a Standard King for a very good price. While we had never stayed here before, we had relatives in the area and were familiar with the location.
First, let me say that the hotel exceeded our expectations. The grounds are beautiful, complete with a woodland gazebo, playground and large porch overlooking the woods behind the facility.
Also, the complimentary buffet breakfast that came with the room was far and above the best "included" breakfast I have ever had at an interstate hotel. Very good choices from fresh scrambled eggs to pancakes, to bacon or sausage were standard fare. Top that off with the usual breads, a few yogurts, fresh fruits and cereals and you had a feast! The best thing, however, may have been that this was all served in a restaurant setting, complete with waitresses and an endless supply of coffee.
My one complaint, and I hesitate to mention this, is that the facility is somewhat dated. This is especially apparent in the lobby furniture which looked like it had been bought at a yard sale(and a bad one at that!). Thread bare sofas simply are not acceptable in a lobby with marble anythings! Shame!
That said, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great stay at a good price. Probably one of the best facilities we have had the pleasure to stay at.

Room Tip: Always check to see what the King Suite costs, especially if you reserved a Standard King!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain

Address: 600 Wildflower Drive at Route 115, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18702-9791 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Luzerne County > Wilkes-Barre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Business Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilkes-Barre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel with two restaurants on premises. Bistro & Lounge with outdoor seating. A hearty hot breakfast buffet included with every room. Large indoor pool, spa & sauna. Complimentary Business center, Wi-Fi, Fax & copy service, Iron & ironing board, Hair Dryer and Courtesy Airport & Casino shuttle. Meeting & Banquet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus East Mountain Hotel Wilkes-Barre
Best Western Plus East Mountain Inn And Suites
Best Western Wilkes Barre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Wilkes Barre East Mountain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.